We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Restaurant”
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 2,416 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N Manhattan Avenue
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Loved This Restaurant”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I ate here with my wife and daughter. The service and food were exceptional.

The restaurant is large and open. We were not out of place in nice jeans and sweaters. It feels casual and homey, but the food is 5 star.

We started with the Lobster Potstickers ($11.95), which arrived quickly and were delicious. My wife had the Shellfish Sampler ($36.95) which she loved. It was a generous portion of shrimp, scallops and a lobster tail on risotto. I had the Macadamia Nut Mahi Mahi ($28.95), and it was also very good. My daughter loved the kid's RJ's Favorite Pasta. We had to get to a game, so we didn't stay for dessert, but the server described a couple that sounded fantastic.

The wine list is good, and has a variety of reasonably priced choices. The service is prompt and attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    109
    53
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite food at Roy's Hawaiian Fusion Cuisine”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was blown away by our dining experience at Roy's while on vacation in Southern Florida. From the appetizers to dessert, everything was spectacular. The combination of flavors was like nothing I have had before and, in a rare treat, the quality was consistent throughout the meal. At the end, I could not pick my favorite... some of the highlights from our shared meal... the snapper, macademia nut crusted mahi, butterfish (a first for me - yum!), U10 scallops, and pesto risotto were all amazing. We also shared several desserts across our party. The family-style serving was a unique treat for this level of high end dining, and let us try several items on the diverse menu. One additional accolade, the service was GREAT -- attentive and friendly! When I return to the area, a meal at Roy's will be a must-do during the trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Meal with Fabulous Service”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I recently ate at Roy's for dinner on a business trip. We arrived late without a reservation and were seated right away. The ambiance is very upscale and inviting.

They have a vast wine list with an impressive selection and wide variety of types and origins. They also have quite a few unique "in-house" mixed drinks.

The menu had a great deal of variety to choose from with lots of main course options. We opted for an appetizer sampler canoe, that was wonderful. The appetizer was well presented with a mix of Asian fusion options as well as some sushi options. The medley included some highly seasoned ribs, lobster pot-stickers, tuna, salmon etc.

For a main course I opted for the Roy's Trio. I was really surprised when the meal arrived, with each option of the trio in it's own compartment with accompanying sauce. The crusted Butterfish was particularly outstanding.

Of course the service was outstanding and very prompt. Our waiter was very helpful in clarifying some of the meal options as well as making some excellent wine recommendations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ehowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gettin' all fanzy.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

normally I'm a pub/pizza kinda guy, but we got a giftcard for this place so we went, even got all dressed up...well, does a hawaiian shirt count? Anyways. The service was really good and the foos was amazing. I got a sushi roll and it was outta this world. Just a cool place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SrirachaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently scheduled a group meetup here and I will definitely be going back. I tried the Grilled Chicken Breast Apricot, Bacon & Gouda Gratineé, and Sweet Potato Puree with Ginger Brandy Jus. Didn't care for the apricots but loved the rest. Also tried the Lobster Pot stickers and they were delicious. I will be getting them again the next time I go. Also tried their version of the Pineapple Upside Down Cake and I will say it is a must have when you go. The service was good and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. Worth the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indigowaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing