We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha”
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 2,384 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N Manhattan Avenue
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Aloha”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a chain yet it has a great feel and good food. You certainly do not think you are walking into the typical chain. I love the creation of flavors they bring together. The Tuna and the Butterfish are wonderful. They have an awesome happy hour!!!! Offering a taste of the islands with spirite to wash it all down with at very pocket friendly prices ($5.00 each). Go enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank susant771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    107
    51
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Amazing service. Awesomem menu. A little too loud inside for my liking but the food was worth it. Dinner definitely came in over my per diem I get for work but I wasn't complaining at all. The resentation was excellent and the staff was very helpful in dealing with my gluten and dairy free diet. I would recommend this for a couples night out. Probably not for a family dinner as its pretty expensive and I'm not sure the kids would totally appreciate the menu or the money spent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were here for a Christmas party. This was my second visit and it was as unforgettable as the first. The service the slow and the food while good didn't match the prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank starjem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful meal and service for my son's graduation from Fullsail, wish his education would have been as good as this food was for the money!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lhiggins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Roy's you've done it again!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

In Tampa with family decided to have a special dinner out with son and his lovely girlfriend. Roy's is perfect for a treat. The dining can be on the more expensive side but so worth it. The service was wonderful. I had visited Roy's in Orlando Florida before so we there because I loved my dining experience in Orlando as well. The table service is top notch, our waiter was knowledgeable about wine, food and ready with recommendations. The wine selection was perfect and the food not sure they have any dishes that are not delicious! Yummo! I love edamame seasoned as an appetizer. The dessert we had, chocolate oozing delicious creation had to be ordered at beginning of meal , so it would be done for us. From start to finish the best! Thanks Roy's! Tip: We only ordered two desserts, it's pretty rich and two can share.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing