We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Special Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House

Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House
Ranked #1 of 59 Dessert in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Special Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

You cannot make a reservation for the Dessert Room if you aren't dining at Bern, but you can stop in as a walk-in and see if there is an available table. We went from dinner but saved room for dessert because we wanted to enjoy the experience. We love the decor and the hideaways made out of wine casks. Private and romantic. There is an extensive dessert menu to please all desires. Both desserts we tried, the pineapple cake and the spice cake, were delicious and presented beautifully. Service was friendly and not instrusive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    96
    41
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we went up after eating. After a wait were served COLD coffee. Service was VERY slow...
Go there if you have time to wait for them to come by

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Macadamia Nut Sundaes in a great place to propose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The macadamia nut sundae is really spectacular and large enough for several people to share. It must have magical properties because my wife said "yes" when I proposed there 24 years ago. We return frequently and have NEVER been disappointed. The Bern's cappuccino is spectacular and the wines by the glass can be extraordinary. Tip: remember to tip a full amount (as there is no service charged, as there is downstairs).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott&Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unique idea and experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

After a pretty lousy experience at Bern's our experience at Harry Waugh's was much better. Desserts were beautifully presented. Good after dinner beverage selection and our server was wonderful. This made it easy to tip fully on a large bill rather than pay a mandatory portion like at Bern's. The room is really a gimmick but they pull it off well.

Helpful?
Thank Julrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I decided to try this place after reading all the wonderful reviews and seeing that it's rated the #1 restaurant in Tampa on TripAdvisor. Not sure what others are raving about. We went there mid week. The exterior isn't very pretty or inviting. Once inside we were taken upstairs to the dessert room. The booths are very cute being so private and secluded. The service was pretty good. But the desserts were way overpriced. My husband had the Taste of Berns. Neither one of us was impressed and for $16.50 we thought it was a HUGE waste of money. I had the sea salt caramel vanilla parfait which actually was very decadent and tasty, however, for $12.95 that was way overpriced as well. I had a hot tea and my husband had a cappucino. Our entire bill was almost $43 and that was just for the 4 items mentioned above. We would definitely NOT recommend this to anyone and would not go back. Based upon our experience at the dessert room I don't think we'd ever try the steakhouse. A HUGE disappointment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing