We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service?”
Review of Oxford Exchange

Oxford Exchange
Reserve with OpenTable
Oxford Exchange is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 2,567 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Hyde Park Ave
Description: We believe that real benefits come from sharing the simple pleasures of every day living. Oxford Exchange attempts to promote open and civil conversations, the exploration of literature, the benefits of shared meals and drinks, curated retail products and provides a home for business.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

For a place with so much potential it is sad to give this review.

I understand that barista's are precious about there ability, most believe they are good at what they do, and on the whole I am sure that this is the case. But there is one major factor you need to take into consideration when working behind a counter.. You are there to serve the customers! You are not there to tell the customers they are wrong. When challenged on your incorrect assumptions, you don't get pissy or start singing about how much you like your job. Not directly in front of the customer at least. Don't assume that a long wait with no explanation is acceptable, don't assume when a customer asked a question the response "well I am busy" "pushed" are the correct response, try communicating with the customer. When the customer is a little pissed off, by the above and when ordering a second cup early so as to get it in the next ten minutes, and that customer does not want to give a name, shouting coffee for anonymous is going to ingratiate the customer.
If the food is not available past a certain time, and you leave the plastic representation in the display, assume some people may try and order this. Plain scones taste better with real clotted cream and Jam. Whilst the chocolate chip scone was interesting the cream was thin and weak, (forgive me if this is the only type available to you, but its not good).
Finally if a customer pays for a drink, but through your arrogance walks away before they receive it, work out that something may be wrong.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Social Media at Oxford Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello, Don!

I'm sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience recently at the Oxford Exchange. I'd like to hear more about it, and I hope you don't mind discussing it further.

Please, email me personally at your earliest convenience.

Best,

Sarah D.
sarahd@oxfordexchange.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 677 of 791 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

The décor is fascinating and up to the minute modern, service is not brilliant and somewhat slow, food is average but as the décor is so interesting and it was very busy. We were experiencing Tampa.

Thank Ilena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Social Media at Oxford Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello, Ilena!

Visiting all the way from Australia? That's very exciting!

Thank you for choosing to visit the Oxford Exchange while exploring the city of Tampa! We apologize for the slow service, but very happy to hear you appreciate the decor!

If you're ever in town again, feel free to get in touch!

Cheers,

Sarah D.
sarahd@oxfordexchange.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Refined casual best explains the food and atmosphere at this landmark restaurant near the University of Tampa. Besides the plentiful items to choose from, the menu is changed weekly to keep you coming back for more. My favorite? The delicious, gourmet burger topped with egg.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lonniel915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Social Media at Oxford Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Greetings, Lonnie!

Thank you, very much, for this outstanding review! Chef Erin updates our menu seasonally and is very selective about our fresh, organic ingredients! She'll be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the burger!

We look forward to your next visit!

Cheers,

Sarah D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

While recently driving through Tampa I had the pleasant experience of meeting my family for lunch at the Oxford Exchange. It is not a typical lunchtime restaurant. The atmosphere is great, and the architecture is interesting. The front and rear of the restaurant have a bookstore and gift shop with many unique items. The focal point of the restaurant is the coffee bar where they serve unusual blends of coffees and teas. On the day I was there it was very busy, and there was a wait to be seated, but the time passed quickly while browsing in the gift shop and bookstore. The wait was worth it because the food was excellent. I had the grilled chicken paillard with an arugula salad and crispy fries. The salad was served on top of the chicken with a light vinaigrette dressing and was delicious. The fries had a spicy dipping sauce. My wife had the chicken n biscuit sandwich with fried chicken, collards, and honey butter on a large biscuit. It was very good too. We shared a specialty almond vanilla milk drink that was much like a thin milkshake. I do not like hot drinks and cannot drink caffeine, but the coffee and tea blends sounded wonderful. It cost significantly more than my normal lunches, but is a great place for an occasional treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Social Media at Oxford Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hello, John C!

Thank you for stopping by the OE! We're glad you enjoyed lunch -- and the wait! You and your wife picked two staff favorites from the menu and I'm happy to see you loved them as much as we do!

We hope you'll be treating yourselves again soon!

Cheers,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Oxford has a beautiful space - it's worth walking through just for that. But stay for the food - we had brunch here on a Sunday, and it was great. Coffee is provided by local brewer Buddy's Brews and our lattes were wonderful. All the food that went past our table to others looked great (the lox sandwiches were HUGE), and our egg dishes were really filling but light.

There is also a coffee shop, bookstore (somewhat of a rare treat these days) and a home store with eclectic and cute items. Plenty of seating if you want to just get a coffee, sit and enjoy that new book you just bought.

Thank GoBlue_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Social Media at Oxford Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for visiting the OE and sharing your experience with the community! We're glad you took the time to explore the whole space, too!

We hope you can visit us again soon!

Best,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Exchange also viewed

 

Been to Oxford Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing