We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a littel piece of Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Mongkolrata Temple

Wat Mongkolrata Temple
5306 Palm River Road, Tampa, FL
8136211669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 153 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feels like a littel piece of Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

While i have never actually been to Thailand, i feel like we have a little piece of it right here in Tampa at the temple on Sundays. It can't get any more authentic than the women and men here preparing their family's traditional recipes to share with everyone at a low price for a good cause. My favorite is the noodle soup and chicken salad with cilantro. Also, delicious and sweet Thai Tea for $1.00 (or maybe a 1.50?)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing! I can`t wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The food was amazing! Everyone was very gracious and familiar with tourists so they explained everything nicely. I am sure we looked a bit puzzled at times! There are plenty of tables to sit down, even by the water. The prices are reasonable and yes, be prepared to buy things to take home! This is not a "fancy" restaurant it is truly a market so you can watch them prepare your food but it is all done outside on a "porch" area. The food is traditional Thai so you will need to be a bit adventurous if you have never tried it. I suggest you walk around the entire porch first to see what they have first. If you buy the first things you see then you may be too full when you get to the rest of the porch! If you can`t decide what to buy, then get in the "soup" line and get a bowl of soup (pho) to start. It is wonderful, with noodles and fresh bean sprouts and carrots and parsnips and generally "recognizable" stuff. After a bowl of the soup you may want to try everything! We attended the service and it was a grand experience. We had never been to such a service. Read the signs about the "rules" first or you can go on their website as it has lots of information. Clean bathrooms. This place is a must see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Terrific authentic Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend a Sunday morning. The food is fabulous...very inexpensive prices. Love the atmosphere.
We have been several times and we always bring friends and make new ones.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful temple in an unexpected area of Tampa.
Large Sunday market open to the public, wonderful food, beautiful location on the river and access to the Buddhist temple.
Friendly community.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 497Tampatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wat a Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is something to be experienced even if you don't like Thai food. The buddhist temple opens up every Sunday to serve Thai food "vendor style" on their massive outdoor deck. If you don't get there early (before 11:30) things will start to sell out. It also may be challenging to find a place to sit at the dozens of picnic tables they have scattered under the oak shade trees next to the river. If you like, you can take your shoes off and tour the beautiful buddhist temple on-site. I ate a lot of stuff that I had no idea what it was. But it was great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TampaFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wat Mongkolrata Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing