We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A good lunch at a lovely restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floridan Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Floridan Palace Hotel
Ranked #92 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good lunch at a lovely restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My friends and I went to the Floridan to review the hotel and to lunch. Both were good experiences. The hotel has colorful and lovely Italian decorations on the ceilings and walls of the lobby and street floors. The bedrooms were well appointed in very elegant and serious styles. The restaurant was bright and airy and the menu choices were varied and interesting, fm hamburger to salmon. The choices my friends made were tasty and well enjoyed by all. I would highly recommend this restaurant for lunch, if time is not a factor. It was not for us.

Room Tip: Did not stay at hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnemarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    49
    22
    30
See reviews for
26
58
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Upon arriving at the Floridan Hotel I found myself in a valley of smiles from the very first person I met April. She explained everything I had available and gave me a cable for internet access and the password to use the service very quickly.
Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is also spacious and very clean. The shower seems to be bigger than my house.
The bed was one thing that if I could take him home, I would have done. Hard in the right places and comfortable....
Very rich and tasty breakfast, I love scrambled eggs,and I found in the morning.
These are the things that made me enjoy my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Congratulations from the heart, you were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with nice, comfortable spacious rooms and an accomodating, friendly staff. If they had not cut a few corners on amenities and keeping outside noise out of the rooms, it could be a five. Be warned, Friday night, there was an outdoor disco on the west side of the hotel and even though we were on the 17th floor, it was loud and intrusive until two oclock.

Room Tip: An outside disco on the west side goes on until 2 on Friday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jj0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I have traveled for business for over 20 years & this is one of the bottom 5 ever! Should have been suspicious when the cab driver said "I have driven in Tampa for over 10 years & have never taken anyone to this hotel. When you walk in-no doubt the grandeur of the restoration is very well done and impressive. But the grandeur comes to a screeching halt there. I was in town for a majot convention that drew 6,000+ people. They had 1 person working the desk at 5 pm. WOW! When i did gret to the room I still wasn't impressed.The front desk said they gave me an oversize king. it was a large room but sparsley furnished. There was a tiny desk stuck in the corner and 2 chairs and a bed. The bed was gard as concrete and the pillows were so hard and over stuffed that you couldn't really use them. this was the worst bed I can ever remember.

After a night of very little rest (mainly due to the bed but the trains at midnight and 3 am blowing their whistle for like 5 minutes i went down for breakfast. Guess how many waitresses were working. 1! The hotel was basiczlly sold out and they had ONE waitress! You gotta be kidding me! Some of our group had already ordered so I joined them. After about 10 minutes she took my order. About 10 minutes later she came back and told one of our party-No Cheerios.Only Fruit loops &frosted flakes. So he said just bring me the bowl of fruit. 15 minutes later she came back & told him "The kitchen isn't making fruit cups today!" I coud go on and on but if you have any other option in Tampa choose it. The best part of my stay was leaving!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KyWingRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tampa hotels

Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Although we did not stay or eat at the Floridan Palace Hotel, it is a MUST SEE when visiting downtown Tampa. The hotel has been exquisitely and authentically restored. It is definitely worth taking the time to peruse it's grandeur! The staff was most amenable when we told them we just stopped by to enjoy the transformation of this beautiful hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We enjoyed lunch here yesterday. I did not make reservations, so we were lucky to get in. (I will do so in the future.) The ambiance is awesome, service well done , and cuisine delicious. Would recommend the salmon, moussaka, clam chowder, and burger. (I am sure we would recommend more items,but that is all we ordered.) The house salad that accompanies the luncheon entrees is very good. You will not be disappointed. The restoration was a success. You feel special while being there and will be treated as such. It is not that expensive. Go and pamper yourself! Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2wego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We are aficionados of old hotels. That said, the previous three hotels we stayed in were a Fairmont, a Four Seasons, and a Trump. So we're used to a certain level of service. Well, if you think that's what's available here then you are mistaken.

It breaks my heart to say anything more, other than that the staff are friendly and willing but simply completely overwhelmed, untrained, and under supported.

Corners continue to be cut here. Tampa still suffers from a lack of an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Equestria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#57 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridan Palace Hotel

Property: Floridan Palace Hotel
Address: 905 N Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-3805
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floridan Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary Floridan, located in the heart of Tampa. Built in 1926, this nineteen story hotel has been brought back to its original grandeur.Indulge yourself in old world charm, met with the modern comforts of today. With an eye for detail and a dash of flair, flawless service and luxury awaits you at every turn. The opening ceremony and ribbon cutting of this iconic landmark took place on July 28, 2012, making the Floridan Palace, once more the “crown jewel” of the city of Tampa. With historical expertise, and detailed craftsmanship, the hotel’s beauty and stature of its original state has been recaptured. The Floridan is one of the few hotels in the Tampa Bay area that is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Floridan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing