We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corners were cut.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Floridan Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Floridan Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Floridan Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   905 North Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Corners were cut.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We are aficionados of old hotels. That said, the previous three hotels we stayed in were a Fairmont, a Four Seasons, and a Trump. So we're used to a certain level of service. Well, if you think that's what's available here then you are mistaken.

It breaks my heart to say anything more, other than that the staff are friendly and willing but simply completely overwhelmed, untrained, and under supported.

Corners continue to be cut here. Tampa still suffers from a lack of an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Equestria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I treated ourselves to a romantic getaway at this wonderfully restored hotel. We loved everything about it, and we especially loved that is was not another cookie cutter hotel. It has been restored to its original grandeur, the rooms are comfortable, the food is delicious, the servers were attentive to our needs. Our visit to the hotel was a pleasant experience. There is no other hotel like it in downtown Tampa. It was definitely a perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelsdowrybmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has been revitalized nicely, however the staff and the menu have a very long way to go. Nostalgia abound but ......it' needs to take a step forward with service and ambiance but overall they are trying very hard. I expect them do do much better in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmsilverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We did not stay at the Floridan, but we did enjoy Sunday lunch there last Sunday. The hotel is an old Tampa landmark. It fell into disrepair and was abandoned for years. A seven year restoration project made the Floridan Palace beautiful again. Entering through the lobby, you see that the chandeliers and ceiling are beautifully restored. While the restaurant is small, the food is delicious and the service is very good. I had the calamari, brown, crunchy, and delicious. Complemented by great bread and other dishes, we had a great meal. I would have lunch at the Floridan Palace again. SInce I have family in Tampa, a stay there is unlikely.

Room Tip: Since the Floridan re-opened only a few months ago, a Sunday lunch avoids the usually crowded after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrbigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very impressive historical rennovation. Nice, old-world lobby. An "on the edge" neighborhood, at best. Mustly smelling hallways. Bar closed at 9pm; no way to get a drink after that. No coffee available in the morning -- front desk guy told me to walk three blocks to a starbucks, located in another hotel (where I should have stayed). Hotel looked to have very low occupancy, as best I could tell. No blanket or comforter on the bed. TV did not have CNN. No room service available. No business center. No hot water in the shower or sink; best it got was luke warm. There was a fax number on the phone, where presumably a guest could have a fax sent, but the front desk guy (working alone) had never heard of that number. The working fax machine was locked in manager's office, so not available at night. The front desk folks were OK but did not appear to have any hospitality training. The whole experience can best be compared to staying in an inner-city YMCA. When I was 19, traveling around the world on $25 a day, that was great. I loved such places. They were a respite from the nights I spent sleeping in train stations. But now, as a business traveler, not so much. And the price of this hotel was not so cheap. If it were $45 a night, I would say "go for it; just have reasonable expectations" For $175 a night, I would say "pick ANY other hotel in Tampa."

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank onekbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had NO hot water, NO blankets on our bed (only 2 flat sheets to cover with), there is NO room service at this hotel. It lacks the hospitality you could expect to receive at other hotels like The W or the Westin. I can't see this hotel staying in business long if our experience was the norm. We won't ever stay there again nor do we recommend it. It's restoration and history isn't enough when it lacks hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP2BTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa fl
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you are looking for a unique place to stay in Tampa, check out the newly restored Floridan Palace right in downtown. The hotel opened in July after being closed for 30 years. It has been beautifully redone and you feel like you are walking back in time. We live locally and went there to check out their signature drink, Between the Sheets. We hope they do some events so we have reasons to go back. The Sapphire Lounge is large and has a piano player in the evenings - the night we were there they told us the gentleman playing the piano was one of the original players from years ago. We will go back to try out the Crystal Dining room soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tampatravelerby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#21 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#20 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#77 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridan Palace Hotel

Address: 905 North Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floridan Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary Floridan, located in the heart of Tampa. Built in 1926, this nineteen story hotel has been brought back to its original grandeur.Indulge yourself in old world charm, met with the modern comforts of today. With an eye for detail and a dash of flair, flawless service and luxury awaits you at every turn. The opening ceremony and ribbon cutting of this iconic landmark took place on July 28, 2012, making the Floridan Palace, once more the “crown jewel” of the city of Tampa. With historical expertise, and detailed craftsmanship, the hotel’s beauty and stature of its original state has been recaptured. The Floridan is one of the few hotels in the Tampa Bay area that is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Floridan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing