We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and fun”
Review of Taco Bus

Taco Bus
Ranked #381 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
419 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good food and fun”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Kind of cool that they had a bus there, and were cooking out of it. Theres also a dining area, with service. Worth the drive from Lakeland. Will go back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    65
    21
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A taste of real Mexico”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Taco Bus has well prepared meals of all sorts...beef, chicken, shrimp, tongue, pork in authentic sauces and tortillas. Try the squash as a side... yummy. Fast service and wonderful guacamole and chips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Let Down”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Man...I was so excited to visit the Taco Bus after seeing it on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives...I'm guessing maybe one location is better than the other? Who knows, but we went to the one in downtown Tampa on Franklin Street. There were tons of people there because it was just the end of lunch, so we had to wait in line...right out the door! I was really looking forward to getting some real authentic Mexican food...I ordered two tacos...one carne asada (steak) and one camarones (grilled and seasoned shrimp) with only onions and cilantro. Holy crap...you couldn't even see the meat filling because of the "stuff" piled on top. The sides were just average too! :( I probably would not go back to this location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFLovestravel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
180 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Very good Mexican food at a good price. Quick and friendly service! This seemed to be a very popular lunch spot for the locals so pick your time accordingly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeep1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You have to be kidding me.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I went here because of all the positive reviews...I went to the health department because of what I saw. One of the cooks had open sores all over his arms and was tending to one right before going back to cooking without even washing (I'm not sure that would have made a difference).
I gave the food a 3 because I didn't try it. For $3/taco, they should be bigger, the tables should not have leftovers still on them, and the cooks should be sanitary. This was really unbelievable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beaker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taco Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing