We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chicken!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hungry Greek

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hungry Greek
Ranked #813 of 2,368 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: 2nd location 2653 Bruce B. Downs Blvd, Westley Chapel, Fl. 33544
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great chicken!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff is friendly. Chicken soulvaki is excellent with Greek salad and rice They also make great sandwiches.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We like going to the hungry Greek when we are in the mood for great Greek food. The portions are generous and the food is just delicious and fresh, keep doing what you do!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I really enjoyed the food it was very good and the service was good and fast and reasonable price. I recommend this place

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We've visited this place several times since discovering it earlier this year. It's small, and seems to be focused on take-out, but they do have a few tables, with more outside and some in a covered area between the Hungry Greek and the building next door. Not fancy, but comfortable enough. Order at the counter and they'll bring it to your table when ready.

The food? Awesome. The gyros are the best outside of Tarpon Springs, stuffed with fistfuls of meat, and very little filler aside from a slice or two of tomato and few onion slivers. Gyros are also available as wraps or on rolls as an alternative to the usual pita bread. They have turkey and veggie versions, felafel pitas, and a huge monster called the Hungry Pita, loaded with your choice of three different meats, hummus, lettuce, tomato, feta, and olives. And they are not just huge, but delicious as well.

I haven't yet tried the spanokopita, dolmades, or avgolemono soup, but they all look to be good size portions as well, and I assume, just as tasty as the gyros. If you like french fries, their's are the best I've had in ages. Greek salad is great as well. Desserts are brought in from a bakery in Tarpon Springs, so you know they're good.

Oh, and the sandwiches range between 6 and 7 bucks. Full dinners, (mousaka, pastisio and the like), top out around $13, with most around $9.

What's not to like?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xtudofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Greek also viewed

 

Been to The Hungry Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing