We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed here for the second time in order to go to the football game. having teenagers this was perfect due to the mall being steps away. Both tmes we had a suite which was quite large. This most recent stay, our reservation got messed up (the room type description). i thought i booked a suite and it wasn't. the manager ended up giving us a huge suite with a connecting King room for under a 100.00 per night. This was fantastic! I would highly reccomend this hotel if you like to shop. The mall is excellent, lots of great restaurants and very close to the Bucs stadium. Also, for day trips only about and hour or so from Sarasota and 25 minutes from St Pete beach.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

Nice meeting facility with accommodating staff and good food. Our meeting went well and every need was met quickly. The staff was friendly and helpful. Plus, the hotel is connected to International Plaza Mall which has wonderful shops and restaurants. We did not need a car, which was a big plus. They also have an airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tampagirl2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I accompanied my husband to a business conference which was held in Tampa. I had three days on my own, so the location was perfect as it's connected to a great shopping mall. The room was so comfortable, though, that I spent a lot more time hanging out in the room than I would have ever guessed. Our room was a little large than a standard, as it was in a corner.
My husband returned to the hotel each evening, & we found wonderful places to dine. The restaurant at the hotel is exquisite; we returned for a second dinner. The hotel service was very, very good, from the hotel bartender to the front desk.
One complaint only: I had to bring my laptop downstairs as I opted NOT to pay the extra $12 -13/day for internet in my room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sublimesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I stayed at the Renaissance from August 23-25, 2010. It was a very good business hotel. The rooms were plenty spacious and up to date. Perhaps the best part is the hotel's proximity to both the airport and a nice open air shopping center with plenty of restaurants, etc. The staff was more than friendly and the meeting rooms were sufficient. I would recommend this hotel to other business travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpencerFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is my second stay at this property, and it has become one of my favorites. It is a clean, well maintained property connected to an upscale mall, with tons of eating and drinking choices literally steps from the hotel. The staff is great, very friendly and helpful. There is a free shuttle to/from the airport. The pool is rather small, but is nice, as is the fitness center. It's a good, solid well run property.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We're locals and have stayed at this hotel several times, most recently last weekend for one night and once again LOVED IT! There are many impressive details throughout the hotel.

We stayed in a standard room on the 7th floor. Nicely decorated. Very comfy bed and very good quality bedding. Spacious bathroom. Nothing not to like.

The location is great. It is in a large upscale, mall, with several restaurants adjoining the hotel. Two noteworthy pubs, Bar Louie (with a seemingly unlimited selection of draft beers) and Blue Martini a short walk away. The airport, Raymond James Stadium (the football stadium) and downtown Tampa are all short taxi rides away.

We chose not to valet park, and simply parked ourselves in the designated parking area and entered the hotel from the side entrance. The room prices fluctuate depending on the time of year, we found a great rate ($125) which included a full breakfast for two. Sometimes it is double that price.

I saw some less than perfect reviews, but we have never experienced anything short of an amazing experience each time we have stayed here. The quality matches some of the better B&B's that we have visited. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kindredspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Made my reservation with hotel, held with my credit card, upon check-in I was told my room was given away..........We specifically asked for double beds. They tried to tell me that I did not "gurantee" to get a double bed. Never heard of having to gurantee the bed type along with a reservation & credit card hold. I know what I asked for, they had a baseball team come in and take all the doubles, and then tried to blame the customers. The night manager was very rude. Then they told me I had to go out and move my car while they tried to see if they could find me a room, because I was blocking the valet entrance... Thankfully, the morning manager was much more professional, and tried to make things up to us. It was just very, very, dissapointing. What happend to the customers always right? I thought this was an upgraded hotel, well, next time I will stay somewhere else!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
1.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $164 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing