We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Simply Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel does a great job with the little extras to help you enjoy your stay even more. Fabulous duvets on the bed are super cozy. A terry robe for after shower or swimming. It really was simply lovely and perfectly located next to great restaurants and excellent shopping. Only drawbacks were the small pool (not ideal for kids) and the confusing TV setup that makes it impossible to find local or network channels.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable! Your feedback is extremely valuable because everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    280
    59
    18
    15
See reviews for
165
187
49
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My professional organization had our annual conference again at this hotel after skipping it last year. I was SO HAPPY to be back. Hotel is great, rooms are wonderful, beds comfortable, food excellent. Location awesome. I didn't have to use my car once in 4 days to have awesome meals, and shop: the hotel is next to International mall: Apple Store, clothing, shoes, Bose.... anything you want. Many great restaurants (Brio our fave). Pelagia (hotel restaurant) is EXCELLENT!!!
Staff is friendly and professional.
THIS HOTEL IS CONSISTENT OVER THE LAST 9 years!!!! No signs of wear, everything great.
I normally always find a negative, so here you are: they keep conference rooms at 67F. I bring winter clothes. Unnecessary waste of energy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridakate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
It's wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your visits for the past 9 years! As you stated, our hotel is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Fla
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Renaissance at the International Plaza is a perfect place to stay when visiting Tampa. It is literally adjacent to the International Mall. More importantly, to me anyway, is that it abuts the plaza abutting the International Mall that contains upscale bars and restaurants, including a Capital Grille, Bar Louie, Cheesecake Factory, Blue Martini, The Pub, and several others. You can get good craft beers, Sushi, good Italian Food, a good steak, etc. all to choose from in the same little area. The Mall is great, and of course the kids love the Apple store. The area is very close to the airport, to the Tampa Bay Buc's stadium and pretty close to downtown. We prefer staying at the Renaissance over staying downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCT1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located near Tampa International Airport and is adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has it all. The location is perfect. It is adjacent to a beautiful mall w great dining. It is also a short drive to food and drug stores. It is close to a highway so there is easy access to all. The airport is a five minute drive. We have stayed at a few others and this wins hands down.
The service is impeccable. We had an issue w concierge and dates for some tickets. Amy and Debbie were quick to resolve. Truly a great representation of the hotel brand. The front desk is helpful and very friendly. The woman who works the Starbuck's stand in the hotel is an institution. She remembers us each year and seems to be a favorite among other guests. Housekeeping was top notch.
The rooms were standard but well thought out w lighting and outlets. The only gripe was the charge for in room internet. The lobby area has free wifi and there are computers in the business center.
The ambiance of this hotel is fun and exciting. There is a reason the pro sports teams call this home. There is an energy at this hotel that the hotels lack. This is our favorite annual mini vacation very much in part due to this hotel. Book early because it fills quickly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank yankeefan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for the SPECTACULAR review! We’re delighted that the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel is your hotel of choice in Tampa and that you always enjoy the services and amenities provided. As you stated, our location is ideally located near Tampa International Airport and is adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores and full service restaurants. Your kind words about Amy, Debbie and Lynn were very much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday, August 16, 2014. We called the hotel free shuttle service from the airport and was picked up around 20 minutes. The check in was quick and great customer service with a smile from the front desk. The room size was average and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and we got a good night sleep. The hotel had the Miami dolphins football team and other conference staying at the hotel and still very peaceful and quiet. The hotel is connected to a very upscale mall with great selection of restaurant. There were no extra charges on our bill. I would recommend this hotel yo everyone.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank INMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your pre-cruise visit to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed here for a short get-a-way. Service was great! I had a wonderful conversation with Catherine in the restaurant. She was absolutely delightful. The rooms were clean. Great location right near International Plazza.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores and full service restaurants. Your kind words about Catherine were very much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel is a touch of class. I had a wonderful stay at the hotel for a work related event. The hotel staff was very professional especially, Juliana Ortiz, the event manager. The hotel has wonderful interior, great food and excellent shopping. It’s also very responsibly priced for such an exquisite hotel. I plan to go back to the hotel for vacation.

Ms. Carter, - FL

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel was enjoyable. Your kind words about Juliana were very much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team.

We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing