We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, Comfort and Convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quality, Comfort and Convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Recently I stayed at the Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza attending a business conference there. My visit was outstanding. A colleague would tell another story. But in fairness it was not entirely the hotel's fault. During our three days there was one night where half of the hotel lost power. It was uncomfortable for those guests and I was told by another colleague that the hotel made arrangements to have those guest transported to another hotel. I hear that ended up being a mess, but that's hearsay.

What I do know is this, the rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. They are either very well insulated or I was treated with polite neighbors because I heard nothing from the adjoining rooms.

I also enjoyed having several quality restaurants (i.e., The Pub, Brio, and others) basically attached to the hotel. Right behind the hotel there is a courtyard where there are several restaurants and stores. Also there is a very nice, upscale mall there to walk off your dinner. This is all within a very short walking distance.

For anyone looking for a place in the Tampa area to hold your seminar, conference, or a business meeting, having a choice of quality restaurants this close means your attendees can enjoy a nice lunch without having to fight traffic to get back and you know they will be back in time for the second half of your event. Additionally, as I walked around, I saw various sizes of conference/ballrooms which should hold any size business event.

If you're planning to visit Tampa, be it business or pleasure, the Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza is very much worth considering for a quality and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the spectacular review! In spite of the power outage, I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    282
    59
    18
    15
See reviews for
165
188
50
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on 18 July as a one night stop over on route to Orlando. The hotel was clean with comfortable beds. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the airport, shopping and nightlife. I could have easily spent a few days there expploing Tampa which looks an interesting city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for the review of your recent visit. I was delighted to hear that your stay with the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel was enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel could not be more convenient for someone flying into Tampa for a meeting. First it is adjacent to the International Airport and offers a free shuttle bus back and forth. Second, it is connected to a huge mall, International Plaza, and a restaurant row, B Street, that has a wide selection of casual restaurants as well as a few high-end places for business entertainment, Capital Grill for example. You never need a car. Everything is a few steps away.

Rooms are good and Concierge lounge had an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Try for 8th Floor facing the airport. This is also the floor for the Concierge Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAworldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

First off we are MARRIOTT Gold members and this is one of our favorite hotels in the Tampa area. Staff is excellent rooms are excellent the only problem is the lounge hours can be picky. This is a very luxurious hotel and we have stayed here multiple times and will continue to do so. I recommend this hotel to EVERYONE because of its charm!.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a SPECTACULAR review! I was delighted to hear that you always enjoy the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As a repeat guest and Marriott Gold Member, we certainly value your patronage …. everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service on your future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel (2 rooms) for a family trip to Busch Gardens Tampa. It was an amazing hotel. The whole hotel has beautiful Spanish decor and is very inviting. The rooms were comfortable and very nice. Only thing missing was the bathrobe that has been in every other Renaissance hotel I have stayed in. The restaurant has received very many awards. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but it was the best breakfast buffet that I have ever had at a Renaissance. We will definitely book it for our next trip to Tampa!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RocketCityStarbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent visit to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We are Hilton people but we really wanted to try something new. We stayed just one nights but were impressed enough. We loved Avedo products in bathroom, plus high quality towels. Perfect location for shopping and dining. Hotel staff was very friendly, starting with front desk associate who checked us is, valet asking if we need any directions and for housekeeping welcoming us. Great stay

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VasekandRegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am pleased that your first stay at a Marriott property was enjoyable. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed during a long holiday weekend and enjoyed the local amenities. The hotel is attached to what I consider to be the best shopping mall in Tampa and surrounded by some of the top dining options in the city.
Visit the mall concierge and request a "Shopping Passport" (may need to show room key) - it provides exclusive discounts and freebies...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DF-Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing