We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is right next to International Mall, and you can be in the mall within a couple of minutes climb up some steps from the hotel lobby. It is also directly adjacent to the good selection of restaurants and bars next to the mall - something for most tastes and budgets can be found within 3-5 minutes walk.

The hotel itself is fairly modern. The rooms are decorated to a high standard, although the taste is a little "chintzy" for my own taste. The staff are friendly and welcoming and there is the usual executive lounge on the top floor for those willing to pay, or being gold+ Marriott Reward members (beware it is closed over the weekend). All the features in the room worked well; I did have to call maintenance to deal with a broken air conditioning unit - they arrived within a few minutes, fixed it and even came back 30 minutes later to make sure that it was working well (which I thought was an excellent touch). There is a huge amount of free parking as part of the mall, or you can plump for the (expensive) valet parking.

The food in the restaurant is very good (Italian based) and reasonably priced and they provide the room service too. Again, my experience of the staff being friendly and knowledgeable was positive and I took their recommendations on dishes a couple of times. There is a small bar on the ground floor too which was pretty deserted whenever I went in or past it but there are quite a few busy pubs and bars just nearby too.

If you want to go anywhere apart from the mall or the airport you will definitely need a car - the hotel is on the ouskirts of the main city and there isn't too much within walking distance, though I believe there is a courtesy bus that will take you anywhere within a couple of miles.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are delighted that your visit to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel was enjoyable. Our Ambassadores take great pride in providing excellent service. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to exceed your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great property, excellent gym, and good sized pool. This is a fantastic hotel for many reasons, but the most important of all is the service provided by the staff. From the front desk to to the concierge lounge, they do their utmost to make sure your stay is pleasant. In particular, I'd like to thank Elaine for her warm greetings and superior service day in and day out. You are the reason we keep coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are delighted that your visits to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel are always enjoyable. Your kind words about Elaine were very much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team - our Ambassadores take great pride in providing excellent service. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to exceed your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff inexperienced.
Pelagia restaurant food good
but repetitive loud music was very distracting and dined there 2 nights and same music played over and over and never changed. Would not go back again unless management changed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. What you experienced is not typical and certainly not up to our high quality standards. We always strive to provide top notch services and amenities and it is very discouraging when we fall short of that goal. You can be assured that your comments have been reviewed with the appropriate staff members in order to prevent a reoccurrence in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I hate to give this kind of review but I'll have to be honest. This hotel was just OKAY. The lobby looks great and location is amazing as it is attached to to the nice mall with decent restaurants. Before arrival, I spoke with someone regarding the romantic package being set up in the room to surprise the husband. It wasn't there and once I called downstairs to ask about it, he heard me. I cancelled it but they brought it upstairs anyways and said it was on the house. Nice gesture but they were not very apologetic. The lady at the desk was kind of rude. Also, I asked about a possible upgrade. I was on the floor with a bunch of screaming girls so they moved us up to another floor. I felt kind of down because we couldn't even toast to a great weekend when we got in the room.

The ultimate embarrassment was the next afternoon housekeeping knocked on the door and we declined. 5 mins later someone just busts in the room while we were having sex (tmi but we're all grown here). I was so ashamed cause the guy didn't even turn around right away. Apparently they don't communicate with one another in housekeeping. A lady knocked on the door but a houseman walked in. I was mortified. They told my husband they would give him a gift card to use anywhere. Sure enough it was a gift card for the hotel only. We never want to stay there agin or any other marriot so we extended an extra night to use the gift card. We were getting promises the entire weekend that just didn't happen. Never again for us. We travel quite a bit and I've never had this kind of experience.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elyse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing Anniversary weekend at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. What you experienced is not typical and certainly not up to our high quality standards. We always strive to provide top notch services and amenities and it is very discouraging when we fall short of that goal. You can be assured that your comments have been reviewed with the appropriate staff members to prevent a reoccurrence in the future. We hope that you will reconsider and allow us to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Here for five days. This hotel was a perfect choice. Nice room, great bedding and it was quiet in the room.

Arrived back at the hotel late each night and had to park in the mall parking lot - not awful just "different". They do charge for internet $12.99 per day. Without that additional charge I would have given the hotel a 5.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that your stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel was enjoyable. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tampa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I travel a lot and stayed at numerous hotels across the States. I have got to say this has to be one of the best so far. Staff were so friendly and very attentive. Lobby was exceptional. The pool and fitness room were up to date. The rooms were very clean and fresh. We dined at the restaurant and the food was amazing. In all a very good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 227Merry45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice hotel, great service, friendly staff and attentive of our needs, very clem rooms and fresh. the lobby was exceptional , pool and fitting room up to date. Outside patio very nice. Rooms are very big. Hall ways well lit and carpet clean & fresh, no bad smells. Convenient location for dinner, just steps away, I mean only steps away for the International Mall. The stay was great I recommend this hotel, and price was just right. I gave this Hotel a 4 star because they charge you $12.00 a day for Internet access and other low class hotels don't even charge you but this hotel does, to bad HUH!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We are delighted that your visit was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
456 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
1.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $153 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your trip to Florida from refined accommodations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. Our modern luxury hotel in Tampa offers an exceptional setting just minutes from the airport and adjacent to Tampa International Plaza Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing