We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, location, location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
kent
Level Contributor
195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a very very nice welcome from Amy.
The hotel has a very Spanish feel about it having stayed in the Marriott Marbella on numerous occasions.
A nice selection in the club level lounge for breakfast, unlike European lounges the drinks are limited to non alcoholic, we did know this prior to arrival.
We also knew that wi-fi is limited to the lobby unless you are willing to pay, which as many have mentioned.
You are adjacent to the mall and a wide variety of bars and restaurants.
A very enjoyable stay and we would return next time we are in Tampa.

Room Tip: Club level rooms are on high floors with lovely views of the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fivestarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. Your kind words about Amy were very much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team. As you stated, our location is is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    280
    59
    18
    15
See reviews for
165
187
49
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just stayed here for our 44Th wedding anniversary. As a Marriott Gold elite, I always hope for a complimentary upgrade. These people REALLY know how to treat their elite guest. As a anniversary gift we were upgraded to a Beautiful suite.
We had a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant, with some wine. My husband worked out in the gym, the next morning, and we shopped in the mall. Next day we boarded out train to Hollywood Florida. Perfect stay. Large clean rooms wonderful staff. Great food

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors facing courtyard, usually quieter. However hotel is well built, most street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to play a part in making your anniversary a memorable one!

Your feedback is extremely valuable because everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Renaissance is a solid choice for Tampa area travelers. Less than 10 minutes from the Tampa airport, walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. Rooms were great. Really liked everything about it except for two things - please provide free water and wi-fi, it is 2014, not 1974.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We are delighted that your visit was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Close to the airport and the International Plaza mall but beyond that, you will have to drive to get to places. The mall is convenient and offers a lot of dining options and great shopping. I used the gym a few times - the equipment was in good condition, no one was ever there, and there is water + earphones and towels (mainly for the pool right outside). The staff were all courteous and their room service breakfast was decent - they have soy milk and lots of healthy choices. Heard great things about the Pelagio restaurant but did not dine there. The rooms were, in my opinion, a bit outdated and a little garish with the colors used and the overall decorations/atmosphere but the spacious bathroom was appreciated. Had to pay like, $7.99 for 24 hours of WiFi which was a little outrageous. Checkout in the morning was crowded and took a while.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AyakaFaithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Flew in from the UK and decided to overnight in Tampa. The staff at the airport were refreshingly pleasant and for the first time in some 30 odd visits to the US security actually called me by my first name. The warmth of the people of Tampa was maintained in the shuttle bus at at reception. All very pleasant, professional and helpful. The hotel rooms are very comfortable though you do have to pay for WFI in the room but it is free in the lobby. The hotel is surrounded by great bars and restaurants and is a great place to start a visit in the US. We will come back to this hotel and continue to use Tampa as a starting point.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is is ideally located near Tampa International Airport and adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Hotel on your future visits to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel.
Went for a conference, and stayed for three nights. Great staff, great rooms and great restaurant.
Next to a huge shopping mall, so easy to do shopping and lots of other alternatives to eat throughout the day and evening

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 454Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel was enjoyable. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Renaissance Hotel in Tampa is a beautiful facility in an excellent location. The staff is attentive and professional. The food (my wife and I were there for a conference) was very good. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. There was plenty of free parking on the grounds. The only negative in our three nights there was the charge for internet access. I simply do not understand why the more you pay for a room the more you are nickel and dimed. If we stay at a Fairfield by Marriott for $100 a night we get free internet access, complimentary coffee in the lobby and a buffet breakfast. When we spend twice as much all the extras disappear. That makes no sense to me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdavis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing