We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is modern, clean and very convenient to the airport. It is part of a large shopping center so there is plenty of shopping you can do if you have down time. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is very helpful. I don't hesitate to stay there when I'm in Tampa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    323
    64
    20
    17
See reviews for
186
227
55
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a nice hotel, and my room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. Still a fairly standard room for a hotel in this price range. The king bed was really appreciated. While some rooms probably have nice views, mine looked at the parking desk. Service was good.

What made this hotel more than average was the fabulous restaurant! Lots of choices nearby, but the dinner and buffet breakfast were unusually wonderful for hotel food.

Location is also excellent. Next to a shopping center with great restaurants, and very near the airport and the stadiums. A great hotel choice for shoppers and sports fans.

Turned out my night coincided with the Tampa Bay/Carolina Panthers game. Believe the Panthers were also in residence for the night. Increased security and players signing autographs made for an unique experience. Later, as the fans returned, it also made for some noise after the game.

A very good option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This property has partnered with the Candy Hall of Fame for many years. The Renaissance team bends over backwards to make sure everything is perfect. We were housed in an Access Room as it had a King Size bed. Spanish style decor and ambiance make this hotel special. The LaFuente Courtyard is the perfect spot for a function that encourages mingling. The banquet facility was large enough to COMFORTABLY accommodate nearly 400 guests for the Candy Hall of Fame inductions. The food was good and I'll leave it at that as I'm not a fan of braised short ribs. Another highlight is the in house restaurant, Pelagia, which is above average. The International Mall adjoins the property offering world class shopping and dining options. If you're flying to Tampa and are not renting a car the hotel will have their shuttle arrive pretty darn quick. Believe me, this place is great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CandyMan627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Big room, super convenient location only minutes to the airport and within walking distance to dining and shopping. The hotel is strangely very quiet given the proximity to the airport.The staff was very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida, USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very nice hotel in great location. Connected to International Mall and outdoor plaza with ~20 or so restaurants and bars. 5 min from Tampa airport.
Very nice rooms, great service and friendly staff. At times parking could be a challenge due to popularity of mall and restaurants, but that just means a 2 minute walk. Well worth the effort as a very nice hotel and very close to Tampa attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I originally booked a room at the Marriott Waterside and stayed there one night. Unfortunately, I had a terrible allergic reaction. I have never had a better response by the staff. When I asked if I could check out early, not only did they allow me to do this, they deducted any charges for my one night there. This left me in Tampa with no reservations and concern about the possibilities. I stopped by the Renaissance and explained my predicament to the manager at the front desk. Without skipping a beat, he created a key card and invited me to check out a room! I discovered a beautiful room without any unpleasant issues. I eagerly signed in. Not only was the hotel wonderful, the staff was terrific! The bellman was eager to help me find a place for supper. He suggested the Cheesecake Factory and showed me how to get to the plaza (a walk down the hall - that's it!). what a lovely choice of restaurants and shops. Beautiful music and lights. After a delightful meal, I made my way back to my hotel room. Once inside, I was greeted with a tray of organic teas and snacks. The manager had left me a note hoping that I was feeling better and to contact him if I needed anything. Needless to say, I awoke refreshed and happy. I had purchased the free breakfast and enjoyed a breakfast of fresh fruit (super fresh and delish) and the best omelette I have ever had. This is now my go-to hotel in Tampa. I have traveled all over the world at some of the finest hotels there are. This hotel is right up there with the best of the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilezmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, PA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed for three nights to attend a conference being held at the hotel. It's close to the airport (free shuttles run every 30 minutes) and sits aside a large mall. If you don't shop, the outer edge of the mall has a wide selection of restaurants and bars, so you never have to leave the general complex. The room was fine, although the work area was a little small. The room was cleaned at an appropriate time and the overall condition of the room was both well decorated and clean. The food at the meeting was very good for a business meeting and the staff seemed genuinely intent on keeping everyone happy. I never made it to downtown Tampa, but still had great meals at the Cheesecake Factory, Capital Grille and the English Pub next to the hotel. I had no problem, but several of the meeting attendees had trouble checking in as their rooms weren't ready till 4pm.

Room Tip: Don't expect to check in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
1.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing