We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muey Caliente!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Muey Caliente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

All of the following are SPLENDID: Location, Staff, Room, Grounds, Dining, Shopping and Value!!!
I would totally recommend this resort to anyone who's looking for an upscale economically savvy place to chill while in Tampa!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We appreciate the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to use the amenities of the hotel and enjoy the delicious food in our restaurant Pelagia Trattoria. It is a convenient location for shopping and dining at International Plaza Mall and Bay Street which can make a vacation more enjoyable. We look forward to your next stay and thank you for choosing The Renaissance Tampa International Plaza for your stay in Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    276
    58
    18
    14
See reviews for
158
184
47
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend. Perfect get-away location for International Mall shopping, restaurants and quick access to TIA and South Tampa. We would stay here again! Friendly staff and clean rooms. Super convenient to Mall entrance and The Pub.

Room Tip: We booked top floor. 8th floor and found it to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parrish94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff was friendly and very helpful. Also, the hotel was beautiful and we loved the pool! It's located right next to an amazing mall for great shopping. We will def. be returning soon, for a weekend getaway :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisilovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband was attending a conference at this hotel and I couldn't think of a better location for a wife to be "stuck". Nice Gym, pool and hot tub...but the best was the location next to an upscale mall with everything you could want. The hotel had a Mediterranean feel, with the stone work, warm colors and nice courtyard. There are many really nice restaurant options, located attached to the hotel. The hotel was so clean, I asked how long they were open, thinking it was less than 1 year, and it was many years. It is also very convenient to the airport.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CUatthebeach_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel when traveling. The hotel is absolutely beautiful with a great lobby and friendly staff. The communal areas of the hotel were all very nice, and it had a great courtyard in the center. In addition, there was a nice pool and hot tub at the hotel. The hotel also had a nice restaurant contained within it. One of the highlights of the hotel was the phenomenal location as it was positioned right next to a mall which was highly convenient. The rooms themselves were a reasonable size and were nice. However, one of the only complaints I did have was that the beds were uncomfortable, and the mattresses were very hard. In addition, there was an additional charge for wifi access (about $13); however, there was wifi available for free in the communal areas. Overall, I was impressed with the hotel as a whole other than the uncomfortable beds.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very beautiful. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Convenient shopping, dining, and entertainer access without having to drive. The valets are awesome. Ordered room service and the good was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmhill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrettyPls
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay if going to Busch Gardens or for your first visit to Tampa. They have a great military rate and seem to really appreciate the military serviceman and their family! It's not to far off the highway and about twenty five minutes to Busch. The shopping is excellent. It's literally 3 minutes in walking distance to the mall. The mall is somewhat upscale for Tampa... with a Neiman Marcus, Capital Grill, etc. It's about a five minute drive to a Whole Foods Market, Target, Best Buys, Wal-Mart. We went to Clear Water Beach one day which is about 40 minutes from the hotel. Our room was roomy, with comfortable beds and we had adjoining rooms to our young adult children. The rooms had refrigerators which we stocked with goodies we bought from whole foods and target. This was very nice. The pool & hot tub was clean and the gym was a nice size for the hotel itself. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Daily the reception desk had free fresh fruit and free self served ice water infused with fresh fruit daily. A wonderful touch! They also offer free on site parking but it's not secure so park at your own risk.
This is a great place to stay even if you are on a budget without feeling like you are compromising service or class!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyPls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#13 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing