We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband was attending a conference at this hotel and I couldn't think of a better location for a wife to be "stuck". Nice Gym, pool and hot tub...but the best was the location next to an upscale mall with everything you could want. The hotel had a Mediterranean feel, with the stone work, warm colors and nice courtyard. There are many really nice restaurant options, located attached to the hotel. The hotel was so clean, I asked how long they were open, thinking it was less than 1 year, and it was many years. It is also very convenient to the airport.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CUatthebeach_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    290
    60
    18
    16
See reviews for
169
199
50
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel when traveling. The hotel is absolutely beautiful with a great lobby and friendly staff. The communal areas of the hotel were all very nice, and it had a great courtyard in the center. In addition, there was a nice pool and hot tub at the hotel. The hotel also had a nice restaurant contained within it. One of the highlights of the hotel was the phenomenal location as it was positioned right next to a mall which was highly convenient. The rooms themselves were a reasonable size and were nice. However, one of the only complaints I did have was that the beds were uncomfortable, and the mattresses were very hard. In addition, there was an additional charge for wifi access (about $13); however, there was wifi available for free in the communal areas. Overall, I was impressed with the hotel as a whole other than the uncomfortable beds.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very beautiful. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Convenient shopping, dining, and entertainer access without having to drive. The valets are awesome. Ordered room service and the good was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmhill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrettyPls
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay if going to Busch Gardens or for your first visit to Tampa. They have a great military rate and seem to really appreciate the military serviceman and their family! It's not to far off the highway and about twenty five minutes to Busch. The shopping is excellent. It's literally 3 minutes in walking distance to the mall. The mall is somewhat upscale for Tampa... with a Neiman Marcus, Capital Grill, etc. It's about a five minute drive to a Whole Foods Market, Target, Best Buys, Wal-Mart. We went to Clear Water Beach one day which is about 40 minutes from the hotel. Our room was roomy, with comfortable beds and we had adjoining rooms to our young adult children. The rooms had refrigerators which we stocked with goodies we bought from whole foods and target. This was very nice. The pool & hot tub was clean and the gym was a nice size for the hotel itself. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Daily the reception desk had free fresh fruit and free self served ice water infused with fresh fruit daily. A wonderful touch! They also offer free on site parking but it's not secure so park at your own risk.
This is a great place to stay even if you are on a budget without feeling like you are compromising service or class!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyPls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Renaissance property is only a few minutes from the Tampa airport, and situated in the International Mall.

The International Mall provides plenty of dining options, as well as shopping for those who are so inclined.

The hotel property is classy and comfortable. It definitely lives up to the Renaissance standard.

Will consider this property again when arriving into Tampa airport in the evening, or needing to leave early morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate the great review and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning in the future. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am in Tampa frequently for businss and decided to try something new this trip. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. My room overlooked the interior courtyard and was comfortable and very, very quiet. Service in the concierge lounge was a bit lacking - the staff seemed very engaged with a few "regulars" and not necessarily interested in the rest of the customers. Didn't have time to take advantage of the mall on this trip but will definitely plan for that on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard if you want something very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holalola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about the hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning in the future. We will assure you it will be a warm and hospitable experience. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
250 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for business conference. 8 floors, some rooms over courtyard. Was on a relatively low floor but was not impacted by any noise. Bed is comfortable, good sized flat screen TV. Free wireless in common areas, charge for wired connectivity in room. Airport shuttle runs every half hour - about a 5-10 minute drive. Right at a very nice mall with a bunch of dining options in addition to shopping. 3 elevators ran quickly. Gym facility had a couple of bikes, about 6 treadmills, free weights and a couple of strength machines. Just outside of the gym is outdoor pool. Are looked very well cared for and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful during the stay.

Room Tip: Always ask for non-connecting, higher floors as a rule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwtaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We appreciate the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and were able to discover all of the amenities the hotel has to offer and visit International Plaza and Bay Street. We do hope you will choose the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza hotel for a future business meeting or just to come relax. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
4.0 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing