We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Choice Near Tampa Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Choice Near Tampa Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Renaissance property is only a few minutes from the Tampa airport, and situated in the International Mall.

The International Mall provides plenty of dining options, as well as shopping for those who are so inclined.

The hotel property is classy and comfortable. It definitely lives up to the Renaissance standard.

Will consider this property again when arriving into Tampa airport in the evening, or needing to leave early morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate the great review and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning in the future. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    282
    59
    18
    15
See reviews for
165
188
50
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am in Tampa frequently for businss and decided to try something new this trip. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. My room overlooked the interior courtyard and was comfortable and very, very quiet. Service in the concierge lounge was a bit lacking - the staff seemed very engaged with a few "regulars" and not necessarily interested in the rest of the customers. Didn't have time to take advantage of the mall on this trip but will definitely plan for that on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard if you want something very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holalola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about the hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning in the future. We will assure you it will be a warm and hospitable experience. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
247 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for business conference. 8 floors, some rooms over courtyard. Was on a relatively low floor but was not impacted by any noise. Bed is comfortable, good sized flat screen TV. Free wireless in common areas, charge for wired connectivity in room. Airport shuttle runs every half hour - about a 5-10 minute drive. Right at a very nice mall with a bunch of dining options in addition to shopping. 3 elevators ran quickly. Gym facility had a couple of bikes, about 6 treadmills, free weights and a couple of strength machines. Just outside of the gym is outdoor pool. Are looked very well cared for and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful during the stay.

Room Tip: Always ask for non-connecting, higher floors as a rule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwtaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We appreciate the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and were able to discover all of the amenities the hotel has to offer and visit International Plaza and Bay Street. We do hope you will choose the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza hotel for a future business meeting or just to come relax. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is very nice. It is extremely convenient to the airport. A lot of times you pay for convenience and then the hotel is lacking. This is not the case here, the hotel is beautiful and clean. The mall is basically attached to the hotel, but it doesn’t have that feeling. So again, convenience without annoyance. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from that are close, and the restaurant in the hotel is very good.

We were able to use the fitness center while staying. There are plenty of machines to use and it is very clean. They keep it at a nice temperature so even though it is scorching outside you are fine. To get to the pool you walk through the fitness center. The pool is a nice size and pretty clean. There are plenty of chairs and loungers to choose from, we never had an issue. The only thing that bugged us was that the hot tub wasn’t that hot… I think the hottest we ever saw it was 93-95 and most of the jets didn’t work. Of course this isn’t going to ruin a stay, it is just one of those things.

The room we stayed in was nice, simple, but nice. The beds were very comfy. I am not sure if each room has one, but I don’t see why they wouldn’t, but we had a mini fridge which allowed us to keep leftovers, drinks, and cold water in. This is a nice feature when you are staying for a chunk of time.

Another plus, getting to the beach from here isn’t bad. We drove to Clearwater one day. We jumped on one highway and were there in about 30 minutes. Beautiful beach, but very crowded! Another day we drove to St. Petersburg. Again, very easy drive, about 25 minutes. You jump on a 7 mile highway over the water, the view as you drive is just gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the amenities the hotel has to offer plus the convenience of International Plaza Mall, Bay Street and the short drive to the beaches. We appreciate you choosing The Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was the perfect spot for the perfect 30th bday. my hubby and I we shopped the afternoon in the mall and then we didnt even have to drive because the hotel provided ud a shuttle to wherever we wanted to go! Everyone was amazing in particular Amy and Mark. Bed super comfortable. Great Aveda products in the bathroom.
The best breakfast I have ever experienced in a hotel. Huge quality buffet and a choice of a main course such as omelette or french toast or waffle.... great place! Looking forward to go back! Any special occasion is perfect! Expensive but worth it! Every penny of it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and chose the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your 30th birthday trip. I am delighted to hear I was able to assist in making your stay that much more enjoyable along with Mark. We are also delighted to hear you were able to enjoy breakfast in Pelagia and do some shopping at the mall. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here in April 2013 with my family of 6. Great service from the minute we pulled up until check out. Had 2 adjoining rooms which were extremely clean and comfortable. Right next door to Mall and restaurants for food, drinks and entertainment without the need for a car. Would recommend highly and will definitely stay here next time in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate all of the great compliments you have for the hotel and staff. Our up most importance is our guests satisfaction and to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We are delighted to hear you and your family did enjoy your stay and were able to visit International Mall and Bay Street. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Once again I'm blown away with the level service in Tampa, FL. Elaine in the concierge's lounge has went above and beyond to provide great service. Elaine and the night staff have been friendly and very accommodating. I can only drink caffeine free diet soda, the next day she had 2 types available for me.

Thank you Elaine for all of your help, you made my business trip great pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Achoice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We certainly appreciate the great review! Here at the Renaissance we strive to make our guests feel warm and hospitable. We are delighted to hear the staff has gone above and beyond to make your stay so enjoyable and Elaine was able to contribute to make it that much more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing