We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location next to mall, smallish rooms, thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

it probably was not the hotel's fault, but the lovemaking of the couple next door at 4 a.m. was so loud it was almost comical. pounded on the wall to shut them up. my wife and i still laugh about it. parking garage is a bit rough and the exit onto a busy street can be a bit tricky. clean room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel, however, I sincerely regret the disturbance your encountered due to noise from the adjacent room. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a rewards certificate to kill and not a lot of time, so we just snuck away to Tampa. As the last time we stayed here, it was an excellent stay.

It's a great property. Well maintained. Clean. Everything one expects -- from good bed and good pillows to lots and lots of hot water. Staff was friendly and professional. Got in, got out, no issues.

Only downside of this hotel is that it is at a busy, upscale shopping mall, and parking can be an issue. At one point, we had to park several blocks away, though it did thin later. Nice thing about this, of course, is that there are a BUNCH of restaurants literally steps outside the door (not that there's a thing wrong with the in-house restaurant, of course!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel, but do regret the difficulty you encountered with parking. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have never had anything but great experiences in a Renaissance, and this was no exception. Very nice room, courteous staff, and a nice comfy bed with good a/c. It had a real nice bathroom as well, and of course a great flat-screen TV.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaltaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Beautiful decor throughout, comfortable rooms, beautiful lobby, and delicious Italian restaurant all walking distance to the fab International Plaza shops and restaurants. My only disappointment is that they changed their beautiful Spanish flamenco classical guitar music to their generic hip hotel music. The whole Latin flavor of the hotel changed. They should at least intermix it because it really made the hotel stand out from the others.

Room Tip: Choice of courtyard or airport or shopping mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are delighted that we are your favorite hotel in Tampa! As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. I will pass on your suggestion to add flamenco music back into the mix and hopefully that will take place prior to your next visit. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed here before, and the rooms are very nice. The beds are very comfortable (Sterns & Foster). My room had a fridge but it did not have a clock radio that would accommodate my iPhone. As my tip says, bring speakers if you want to listen to music in the room form your iPhone/iPod. Service is great, you call the desk for everything and they take great care of anything you need, very high marks to the staff. The Hotel shuttle will drop you at anywhere locally. The location is on the International Plaza Mall, which has tons of elegant stores, as well as "Bay Street" with several bars and restaurants. The food in the hotel is better than average hotel food. Check the web site for details and menu's. I lived in Tampa for over twenty years, and have always stayed here when there was a function nearby.

Room Tip: The rooms don't have iphone/ipod clock radios yet. Bring your own speakers if you want to hear m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLWAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that you always enjoy the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to once again welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have lived in Tampa on and off for the last 21 years and when I don't physically have a place to live I usually try to stay at this hotel. Number #1: staff is fantasic; Number #2: location is incredible and it is adjacent to the best mall in the state and sooooo close to the airport; Number #3: Ambiance and dining options are some of the best in the city. Breakfast is the best... nutella and banana french toast, need I say more?!?

Room Tip: Everywhere in this hotel is wonderful, but some of the rooms are a bit on the smaller side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutinyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

WOW! Thanks so much for the awesome review! We are thrilled that you always choose to stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel and that you enjoy the services and amenities provided. As you stated, our location is convenient to the airport and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly value your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I needed a hotel with a convenient location for one night stay in Tampa Bay. This hotel offered it all. The proximity to the airport, major highways, upscale dinning, Tampa stadium and shopping is perfect! The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and it offered a pool, gym, restaurant and lounge. The courtyard was lovely to have coffee and read . Bed was comfy, and bathroom was a nice size.
The hotel is fairly new so it did not look worn or dated. I travel to Tampa often, this was my first time at the Renaissance and not the last.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abaykowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is convenient to the airport and we're ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
1.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $160 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing