We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible!”
Review of Carne Chophouse

Carne Chophouse
Ranked #158 of 2,383 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Horrible!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

In order to make this easier for all and to get to the point without having to bored anyone, I will make this review very simple.

This restaurant sells you the upscale look and feel and they elaborate your food with low quality ingredients.

-The lighting is horrible so you don't see exactly what you are getting on your plate.
-The service is ok, but nothing special.
-The meats are low quality. For those that say that they had great steaks in this restaurant-- They don't get out much !! TRUST ME!!!
-This place is WAY over priced and very low standards in service and in the quality food (appetizer, and cut of meats).

Overall, Please choose another restaurant -- stay away from this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carima08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    96
    45
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb meals!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

One of the best meals me and my wife have had. Definately recommend this and very reasonable prices too. The place is big and a very good atmosphere to eat in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikecot147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Awesomse Restaurant!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a great find the Carne Chophouse was on our recent holiday to Tampa. The food & service were both outstanding. Of course we had steaks and the team made sure we got exactly what we ordered, which is very rare with steaks we've found (no pun intended!!).
The building is a historic landmark and our excellent server (Darian) was both knowledgeable and proud to work there.
We can't fault our visit to Carne at all and wholly recommend it to anyone in the Tampa area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 356speedster1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly service great foo”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped in for lunch while in Ybor City. Our waiter was charming and a pleasure. We ordered the sirloin au poire. The sauce was outstanding. Their Caesar salad dressing is the best I have ever had and the salad itself is great. Don't pass on the French onion soup. Has their secret ingredient (they'll tell you if you ask) and it is superb. The building is historic. The atmosphere at lunch is relaxed. The service was spot on. We will definitely eat there when in Tampa

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great food at a reasonable price. Don't miss trying their Cheese Fries Poutine – – Crispy Yukon Gold Fries, Cheddar Sauce, Crispy Bacon, Scallions, Rich Brown Veal Gravy & Fried Egg. You may go into cardiac arrest before you get back to your hotel but you'll die with a smile on your face. Excellent steaks, cooked to perfection. Decent but pricey wine list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carne Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Carne Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing