We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant casino hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Pleasant casino hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Seminole Hard Rock Tampa was quite a good surprise.

The location is probably not the best, in the middle of nowhere, close to the freeway, but if you have a car it's fine (it's about 15 minutes driving from downtown Tampa). Self parking is free.

The good things: it's a true resort, with a large Vegas style casino (I'm not able to say if it's the 10th largest in the world, but it's a very large one), many good restaurants (I have tried Council Oak, Hard Rock Café, and the cafeteria for breakfast), a lot of bars with live bands some nights, a pleasant swimming pool. What else could you ask for to keep you busy?

If the room was comfortable and large with top quality linens (egyptian cotton), the view was not so great (parking view). The bathroom was OK, but with the shower in the tub it can't be as good as a real separate shower.

Overall it's a very pleasant hotel to spend some vacations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, Front Office Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We're so pleased you found the room to be comfortable and large! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    204
    124
    103
    169
See reviews for
175
453
109
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I came down from New Jersey to visit friends in Clearwater and we were at the Hard Rock in Tampa from 8/5 through 8/8. We stayed at our friends house, so we didn't see any rooms, but we sure did see the casino.
We probably spend too much time in casinos, but we are retired and visiting them is what we love to do. I love playing slots and my husband enjoys poker and blackjack. First of all we were both impressed by the size and scope of your property. We have been to a lot of Indian owned casinos and with the exception of the Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods we have never been to one that was as big as the Hard Rock in Tampa. The number of slots machines is staggering. They have these touch screen information machines located throughout the casino that allowed me to locate my favorite slot machines very easily! Usually, I have to walk for ever (and then I can't find them the next day) to find my favorite machines, but this place makes it easy! There were plenty of blackjack tables for my husband and the poker area was very large.
There are a lot of restaurants here and I think we tried them all. The Rise (?) restaurant had great baked goods. We tried the Hard Rock Cafe for lunch one day and the hamburgers are enormous and delirious, but pricey. There is a very large buffet that has something for everyone that we also enjoyed. But our favorite restaurant was the Council Oak. We ate there all four nights and tried something different each night. I must say that EVERYTHING we tried was excellent. We have been to over 100 casinos in the U.S. and we frequent Las Vegas and Atlantic City. Our dining experience in Council Oak was superb and maybe the best we've ever had out of all the casinos we have been to. We were seated in the dining room the first night, but we decided to dine in the lounge the other three. Jonathan at the bar was a delight and took great care of us. There was a (may I say very good looking) young man playing the piano in the lounge the first few nights we were there who was very enjoyable. He had a very nice voice and gave the place that "piano bar" atmosphere.

Now to the surprise on our last night. We once again dined in Council Oak and were served by a lovely young lady named Leah (who is a great server and very attentive). There was a young lady singing that night that was incredible. As we entered the lounge she was singing "Smile" (my favorite song) and her voice gave me goosebumps. Her name is Emily Skyy.

We have seen some of the best shows in Vegas including Celine Dion and Bette Midler and although there were only two people on the stage, she/they were every bit as enjoyable as any show we have ever seen. They went from one song to another and it was truly like a show. I remarked to my husband that most casinos would charge for a show like this.The sound was perfect and sounded like an entire orchestra was there. There was a young couple seated in the front who did some wonderful ballroom style dancing to their songs that were a delight to watch. Emily and her partner sang some great songs including some from our era and some very new songs also and they were excellent. If you go to Hard Rock in Tampa, you would be remiss if you did not hear Emily sing. We are now fans of her on Facebook. I think her name will be in lights sometime very soon.

I have nothing but positive things to say about Seminole Hard Rock in Tampa. Great casino, excellent food and service and SUPERB entertainment! We also came away with a few dollars more than whet we started with! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have been going to the Tampa Hardrock Property since it was just a Bingo hall and have watched it grow and enjoyed their improvements immencely over the years. As my children grew up to experience it,now so also are my grandchildren. We stayed 2 nights over the weekend in a month and Tampa's Hardrock has delivered the the excellent experience and memories to our family, just as they advertise. I took my daughters, their husbands and 5 grandchildren and from the Fresh Harvest to the food court, the children were heard stating how this was the best place ever! (13 yrs, 8 yrs, 5 yrs, 3yrs, and 7months old) The 7 month old now giggles and smiles when you say and sing "we are going to the Hardrock!" The staff was awfully helpful at every turn, food was great and even the roaming eyes of the security team ensured your level of comfort was of the chain. The beds make you want to stay a week, and the fact that we won some and lost some was last thing on our minds.The kids brought all of their electronics and enjoyed the room. I do wish they had kid specific activities since they are the future club members in all possibility. My family and many of their friends are already planning to return. I always tell them that the next time they are on I-4 approaching the attractions area, they may just want to consider continuing on another 50 plus miles to "one of the most exciting places in the world!" They truly "ROCKED our world"!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, Front Office Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We couldn't be happier that you and your family had such a FABULOUS time! Please come back and see us again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A must to visit or stay and play! Enjoy the slots and take in all the advantages of the Hotel and eating establishments within the building. The staff is very helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay and play an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Ask the reservations staff upon check in your wants and needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived and my scooter (which was pre-reserved) was brought to the car door, all of the staff was outstanding. Check in and check out were very quickly completed. The room was very spacious and included many unexpected amenities. The food was outstanding--even the Food Court--and was very reasonably priced. The slots rooms were numerous and even with smokers, the ventilation system was top-notch. You can be sure I will be traveling back to Tampa sometime soon.

Room Tip: We got a non-smoking room and there was no "smoky" smell at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimauma, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A beautiful, clean, clean hotel and casino. All staff very friendly , Nice, comfortable beds ,only problem pillows were a little hard. Outstanding service at Green Room and good breakfast. Rise is also good. Also liked the Keurig coffee maker in room=makes for a great cup of coffee. Ambiance in casino is very good with great music. Room was also quiet at night-a big plus for us. If your looking for a clean and quiet room with comfortable beds, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: 7th floor very good near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, Front Office Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Were so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us! Sorry to hear you did not like your pillows. Next stay we would be happy to find you softer pillows. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

In general we stay at the hotel as a promotion, (free stays) and have found the place to be of an average standard. Accommodation is of a good to high standard with nice soft beds. Some of the amenities could be better and the shower could be a bit more powerful (watch no one else runs the water)
Hotel could do a lot more for entertaining younger members, being as they are not allowed in the gambling area.
A lot of the favourite slot machines have disappeared and replaced with newer models which are now more expensive .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L, Front Office Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We're happy to hear you enjoyed the beds on your recent visit! Sorry to hear you had some issues with water pressure, but please let us know next time and we'll be happy to fix the issue right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
6.1 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
9.3 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa

Property: Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Address: 5223 Orient Rd, Tampa, FL 33610-4114
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't settle for just any Tampa hotel; give yourself the full rock star treatment at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Tampa. The 12-story AAA Four Diamond hotel features luxury amenities, including a newly renovated Rock Spa and VIP services galore. The hotel also offers a valet service or free, self-parking. We welcome reviews about the hotel experience, but we do have a casino and amenity specific page so be sure to leave your review on the right page so we can best respond to your comments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Tampa
Seminole Hard Rock Tampa
Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Hard Rock Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing