We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel and casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Ranked #38 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A decent hotel and casino”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Hard Rock Casino is a fairly well equipped hotel and casino complex just outside Tampa. Technically it's on an Indian reservation but you wouldn't know it since its just off the I-4. The hotel rooms are very well equipped with HD television and other facilities. The toilet / bath is very well furnished.

The casino is labyrinthine and provides most of the games you would expect from a casino. Mysteriously roulette is not one of them. Neither is craps. Nor is Caribbean stud poker. There space for these games since the floors are filled with acres of slots so their absence is peculiar. Bits of rock memorabilia pepper the floor but it's otherwise straight down to business. One annoyance was the number of machines bragging that they cost 1c, 2c, 5c but with minimum number of lines which meant they cost 25c, 50c or $1 to play. Drinking and smoking are permitted on the gaming floor but drinks are not complementary.

In addition I tried the Fresh Harvest buffet which had a great selection of foods although some items cost extra. The buffet is pretty good value assuming you present a gaming card for the check. The Hard Rock Cafe looks cool from the outside but I didn't eat there.

There isn't much here for kids. Kids can visit the restaurants but must be accompanied everywhere and there are no other diversions for them while adults hit the casino.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HibTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for your review. If you're looking for a great restaurant option at a great value, next time please try our new Rise Kitchen & Bakery, the average meal is $10.
You're correct in that we're an adult playground. Our concierge can gladly help arrange childcare accommodations, but we do not allow children under 21 on the casino floor, even if they're accompanied by an adult. We hope you try us again soon, best of luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    232
    138
    112
    178
See reviews for
196
517
134
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my first time visiting Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino and I have to say I had a blast! I was with a group and we all went in different directions, depending on what we were planning to do....The food court was great and the staff is very friendly and helpful...We actually went a second time and look forward to going back again soon

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpianeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We're so happy you visited us and had a great time. We look forward to see you again soon. There's something for everybody here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'm from Las Vegas, but I was visiting family & they wanted to gamble. We checked into the hotel & we were given a room with a cot in it that hadn't been cleaned. The bellman was very apologetic but we had to go back downstairs to get reassigned a room. The room we were finally assigned 15 minutes later was clean & comfortable. Once we relaxed we headed to the casino for a little action--BAD MOVE! The machines were tight & no one seemed to be winning. To make matters worse we ordered 2 cocktails-$14! OK again I'm from Vegas where the casino slots are loose & drinks are free. We went to the buffet for dinner. Food was OK- nothing special. When we checked out a $10 valet charge was added to the bill. This would never happen in Vegas! If you just want to get away for a night or two Hard Rock Tampa is cool. Serious gamblers, save some time & catch a flight to Vegas where the casinos cater to gamblers!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLMOOREHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for writing about your experience. Now that we're bigger and better, there's more chances to win and more places to dine. We're sorry you didn't have a winning experience on the casino floor, but we can assure you we pay out millions in jackpots here. Our casino just awarded the largest slot jackpot in the state a month ago, whopping $3.7 Million on the Millionaire Sevens Machine. We hope you'll give us another try, thanks again for writing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Since I cannot travel to Vegas as often as I would like, it was wonderful to discover the Hard Rock last year while vacationing in Orlando. Before I visited this year, I checked the website in advance and didn't find any slot play promotions or coupons. This didn't deter me, but it would've been nice. My husband and I went yesterday and had a wonderful time. Great, upbeat atmosphere. Smoking is permitted, however the place was well ventilated. They have a good variety of machines in general, but not a lot of my favorites like video poker, Hexbreaker, Lobstermania and Cleopatra. My husband played Cleopatra, Lobstermania 2, and one called Cash Spin (not sure if this is the correct name) and lost nearly everything. On the other hand, I played video poker and more than doubled my money. We were there a little over an hour, taking our time and enjoying ourselves. We were just happy to leave with more money than we came in with. Bring a light jacket if you're sensitive to air conditioning. Ideal for couples who want some time to themselves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escalade5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write us about your experience. In addition to our usual Cars and Cash giveaways on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, we hope you joined the Player's Club so you can learn about all the other direct mail promotions we do. We look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've been to many casinos over the years..i.e. Conn, AC, Vega, Miss...this one has to be the worst of them all...payouts are terrible...all promotions are scams to get you in the door...you have to spend several thousands for even a chance to win...my advice...just go in and watch awhile before you play...it won't take you long to see that no one is winning...i personally have spent thousands and the biggest hit I've gotten is $200.00..so if you go expect to lose...If you spend more than $50.00 your chances of winning any of it back is nil..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write us. We're sorry you weren't lucky when you visited us, but we can assure you we pay out millions in jackpots. Our website is updated daily with this information. In megajackpots alone we've paid out over $10,000,000 in the last couple years. We hope you'll give us another try, but understand the entertainment of the casino is not where you'd like to return. Best of luck, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We just returned today from a 2 night visit at Seminole Hard Rock. Was very enjoyable! Room was very nice and the bedding was so comfortable, I bought 2 of the pillows to bring home. Have been to other Hard Rock locations, but we gotta say the staff at Tampa was amazing. All had such great happy attitudes and were eager to help and just say hello. The service was over the top. Meals prepared quickly and presented well. Our casino host, Billy Dane, went out of his way to insure our visit was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flg8rgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Only stayed one night with a friend but the room was beautfil, great amenities. Would definately stay here again for longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! We take pride in our Hotel & Casino and try to make every visit the best it can be. We're glad you had a great time and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
9.2 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
6.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
6.4 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa

Property: Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Address: 5223 Orient Rd, Tampa, FL 33610-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't settle for just any Tampa hotel; give yourself the full rock star treatment at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Tampa. The 12-story AAA Four Diamond hotel features luxury amenities, including a newly renovated Rock Spa and VIP services galore. The hotel also offers a valet service or free, self-parking. We welcome reviews about the hotel experience, but we do have a casino and amenity specific page so be sure to leave your review on the right page so we can best respond to your comments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Tampa
Seminole Hard Rock Tampa
Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Hard Rock Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing