We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family stay we have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Our family has stayed in a lot of hotels and this was the best family value by far. Extremely clean. Staff was exceptionally nice. Very nice free breakfast, free ice cream at night, free drink at check-in. Kid friendly. Really a tremendous value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damonfCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 668 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

My family and I stayed here from 7/13 to 7/17. It was wonderful! It is about 15 mins. from Busch Gardens. While it is located in a quiet area, it is close to many places to eat. The rooms and pool were very clean. The landscaping at the pool was lush and had a tropical feel to it. Each night from 8:00 to 10:00, they have complimentary ice cream in the lobby. My child loved it and looked forward to it each night! The staff is very helpful and even had directions printed out to local attractions. The fitness room had several types of equipment with 2 treadmills. The breakfast was great and had healthy options as well as eggs, bacon, and pastries.Overall, an excellent stay! TIP: It is about 40 mins. to Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomatterwhereyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Thanks Kathy (general manager) and your staff .this was a great stay at this location .my family ( The Patterson) and i will come back for a stay again next time in town . this is one of the best hotels around I've seen , very clean, way above average , not far all the activities in Tampa and beaches ..i would recommend..definitely

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

To start, our check-in guy was fabulous. When he found out we were celebrating a birthday, he pulled out all the stops: an upgrade to a studio suite, coupons for the movie theater next door, and her favorite restaurant. Thanks, Richie, you rock!

This HI is top-rated in Fla. and highly-rated on tripadvisor for many good reasons, so let me give you a few:

1) Location is right off I-75 in a new neighborhood, with just about any restaurant, store, entertainment or service (doctor, dentist, haircut) that you could possibly want or need. By the way, Busch Gardens is about 15 minutes away, but, trust me, it's better to stay a little ways from town.
2) Police presence-- cop car always out front and officers eating breakfast in the mornings. I had no worries about my vehicle or personal safety.
3) Added-value amenities: Complimentary ice-cream novelties at night and hot/cold breakfast offerings in the morning.
4) Hotel is new and well-kept. It looks clean, inside and out, and has nice landscaping. Housekeeping does a wonderful job and offers many optional goodies like mouthwash and shower caps, etc.

A few nit-picky things the hotel could improve on, in my opinion:
1) Pool water needs to be a little warmer and the pool towels ran out (but I didn't ask for more-- so, to be fair, the staff didn't have the chance to respond).
2) I wish the hotel was entirely smoke-free (zero smoking rooms). We had a non-smoking room and never smelled smoke at all, but it is an allergy as well as safety concern. (I'm not fond of unnecessary fire. <smile>)

P.S. I forgot to take pictures of the hotel, only got Busch Gardens and restaurant shots, but I will try to add them if we're able to return!

P.P.S. Trying to decide between a studio and regular room? Well, you get more space (probably about 10 feet more lengthwise) with a small couch and coffee table, plus a bar sink, microwave and dorm-size fridge (big enough for a gallon of milk, oj, and fruit).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pricelinejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Stayed two nights during a Florida trip and was VERY pleased with the room and overall hotel. Cleanliness is my priority when staying somewhere and I was extremely happy with that aspect of this hotel. It was also very updated/new and provided some extra perks, such as the morning breakfast (very fresh), morning paper, nice pool area for just relaxing and taking in the nice view and a friendly, complimentary offer of water/beer upon checking in (which, after a long....or short trip, was a nice "hello."). We were able to get upgraded to a two bedroom (did I mention how great the beds were) and that was just awesome. Both bedrooms had their own flat screens, plus another in the living room area. There was even a nice little kitchenette area. It was like apartment/condo living, not just a hotel. Also, the location was great and made for easy access to many of the places in the area, including dining, shopping and beaching. The staff was very attentive and professional........ and you just knew that their top priority was you. I will definitely go back there again and highly recommend for anyone. A lot of hotels could learn a few good pointers from this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We started our trip in Naples where my husband had business meetings. While in Naples we stayed in a pricey little hotel (Inn on Fifth) that this Holiday Inn blew right out of the water. Sure the Inn in Naples was in a nicer spot for walking and shopping but the room here was much nicer.

When I booked our pkg. thru Busch gardens all that was available were rooms with 2 queen beds. When we were checking in I asked if they had rooms available with 1 king bed? She said sure if we didn't mind the ground floor. Our room was just a few doors from the front desk with a very nice pool view. We never did use the pool as we were gone all day.

The room was spacious, nice flat screen T.V., the bed comfy and the bathroom had all sorts of amenities. There was no hallway noise on the 2 nights we were here.

The complimentry breakfast had hot omelettes, sausage patties and assorted cereals, pastries, fruits and juices, the second morning there was scrambled eggs and bacon for the hot part. Very friendly staff in charge of keeping everything stocked.

In the evening they provide a self serve ice cream treat by the front desk.

The first night we walked down the road about 5 minutes to a Ruby Tuesday for something to eat. It was okay. The next night we went directly across the street to a little restaurant with maybe a dozen tables. They seemed busier with take out orders than diners, it was a Sunday night. They had a combo sushi and thai menu. The staff was great, when we debated on what to order they had great suggestions and thought we should probably share our main entree after the sushi we ordered for our appy. That was plenty of food for us and surprising in that we would have probably ordered too much and spent more if not for our waiter.

There is a big theatre, I think 20 screens, within a couple minutes walk here too.

So even though this Holiday Inn is kinda off the main drag and surrounded by trees and in a quiet area there is still a few things you can walk to and stretch your legs. Oh and we enjoyed Busch gardens too, approx. 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertabev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Just returned from a 4 day stay at this property. Reviews are on target; the property is outstanding for a Holiday Inn Express. Very clean and well appointed, above average breakfast, staff very very accommodating! Location is great--lovely upscale area of Tampa, yet just moments to the interstate. Recommendation from Ann at front desk for Italian restaurant led us to Polo's where we enjoyed outstanding Italian food. Thanks Holiday Inn Express for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cindyj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
10.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Address: 8310 Galbraith Rd, I-75 at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $114 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing