We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here because of reviews and convenient position to north of Tampa, and very pleased we did so. The hotel is great - spacious clean rooms, well equipped, good location and easy to find. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and we particularly liked all the extra - a drink to take to your room, ice-cream in the lobby. The breakfast was really good, much better than the hot food offerings in similar hotels, tasty and hot. The other offerings are also good - nice muffins, fruit as well as plain breads, etc Strongly recommend - a model of how hotels should be!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Honored Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We love it when we are able to provide a great stay to folks who've travelled all the way "across the pond" to visit Tampa. Thanks also, for your compliments about the free breakfast buffet - I will be sure to share them with the pantry team.

We wish you more happy travels look forward to serving you again on your next trip.

-George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 666 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express North Tampa is by far the best of the brand. If IHG was looking to build their brand and image around a model this is the location to select. For the last two years, I have traveled to this location and held meetings within the conference areas. I would have groups of 6 through 16, and at no time did I have a complaint or issue. From check in to check out, you will be taken care of with kid gloves. George the GM, offers his personal cell phone number to all guests, and requests calls if there is ever an issue. A true pleasure to work with George and his entire staff. My business travel has ended; however, I will go back for vacations. The team makes you feel like family, so make yourself at home and enjoy!! There is even a putting green!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Matt,

Your compliments and recommendation are sincerely appreciated. It is a pleasure to provide a successful training environment. Our team takes pride making the trainees feel like family.

We will miss your arrivals for business, but will be honored to serve your family for your trips to Florida.

Wishing you success in your new position,
George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the reviews on this site and was so glad that I did. It's not the nearest to Busch Gardens but it's an easy journey, close to the Interstate and it's definitely the best!

The levels of service are everything that has been said. In addition the hotel is immaculate and the rooms spacious with comfortable beds.

The breakfast is self serve and fairly basic but when we had a couple of requests, they were dealt with immediately and when my husband was allergic to an item on the menu, we were brought an alternative immediately.

A lot of the facilities are available in other hotels but the difference here is that you don't have to ask for anything - it is all offered or provided.

When we arrived early for check in just to drop off our cases, we were given a room. We were told all about the services on offer, we were given a local map, we were offered complimentary water, drinks and ice cream, we were advised about a discount at the local restaurant and given the WiFi password as a matter of course.

If you need a hotel for holidays or business, stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PracticalReviews2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Practical,

It is always great to hear from travellers who appreciate so many of the unnoticed details in our service and amenities. I am very proud of the team that served you so well.

Thank you very much for finding our hotel and for taking the time to recommend us to others.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Wishing you more Happy Travels!

George Sandona,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Picked this place for a 2 night stay while visiting Bush Gardens and could confirm all the kudos given on TA, the place seems to be new, very clean, I mean really clean with no smells of anything on the room. Very comfortable beds, modern and well maintained bathroom, nice furniture and a 44in TV with plenty of HD channels, including some that usually you don't get for free on other more expensive places. Service was very professional and on point, no complaints. There's lots of restaurant options around, groceries stores, pharmacies, etc...very convenient and only 15 min away from Bush Gardens and 20 min from Tampa downtown. I'd definitely stay there again. I've stayed in other larger and more luxurious HiE overseas, however for US standards this one is on my top list.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBDelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear LB,

Thank you so much for the great compliments! I am always glad when the attention we have put in to room design, cleanliness & amenities is noticed by you, our guest.

It is an honor to be compared with your other favorite hotels, and to be your favorite Express in the US!

Our team is happy that we made your grade.

George Sandona,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Recommend this specific hotel to others. It is conviently located just off I-75 yet not close enough to hear traffic. We were greater at front desk with a smile and were offered a beverage (beer or water) and was told about the 8pm-10pm free ice cream and breakfast hours in the morning. Our room felt a tad musty when we arrived however once the air began it was perfectly fine. Room was very clean and bed was extremely comfortable. We had a partial view of the pool in room #427, King Size bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Cait,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers. We work hard to be the best at serving teams, and I am glad it shows. I invite you to return with the kids for a Busch Gardens weekend sometime soon. We have great package offers!

I hope the team is having a winning season and will be with us again for the next tournament.

Happy Travels!

George Sandona,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We, a group of 50 individuals, were housed, rented meeting room space, and got catering from this wonderful hotel. The staff was great and helpful, they catered to the groups needs, etc. I truly recommend speeding time here, not only do they have great accommodations (i.e. the rooms, shuttles available, meeting space, food) but the staff is wonderful and ready to help. Our group often has large meeting all over the nation and thus far this has been one of the best experiences.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Nadia,

Thank you for pointing out all the great things about our Meetings & Events services. Our hard-working team often gets overlooked for the great service they provide to meeting professionals and organizations.

I am glad that we had to opprtunity to impress your group and invite you to come back for another meeting, or for some rest & relaxation.

Thanks again for staying, and meeting, with us!

Kind Regards,
George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We booked this HIE due to its prominence on TA. Trust me: there's nothing amazing at all about this place. The staff is nice and friendly for sure, but that's pretty much normative. The sink in the bathroom didn't drain properly. The TV controlller needed a new battery and you needed a PhD in engineering (my husband has a Master's) to get the blasted thing to the channel you wanted. The room was the ubiquitous HIE room. The breakfast a tad batter, but only a tad. They had two 8 slice toasters and the bagels were a better quality than usual but still formerly frozen. They did serve ice cream sandwiches at 8pm which was nice. But, the place was pricey and way way out of any Tampa sights and the city itself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rojersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Ro,

Thank you for choosing our hotel! We appreciate you candid insights and will use them to improve. I apologize with the problem you had with the television - through our normal processes, this has been corrected.

We hope that you will travel our way and give us another opportunity to make your stay in Tampa a great one.

Again, thank for your thoughtful review.

George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
15.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
10.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Address: 8310 Galbraith Rd, I-75 at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $109 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing