We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Property and Staff, You Won't be Dissapointed!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
1 review
“Excellent Property and Staff, You Won't be Dissapointed!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's not very often I travel and am anxious to return home to write a good hotel review, but this is one of the exceptions. I booked here for July 4th weekend. Shortly after completing the booking, I saw a review about construction at the hotel and got scared and wanted to cancel my booking. I called the hotel a couple of times and asked the staff about the construction, each time in detail they explained what stage it was at and assured me that my trip would be pleasant. I then called and left a message for the general manager, who called me and also took the time to give me the details of the construction in process. Well, when I got there I was like what construction?? They were doing some work on the first floor but you had to go and find it if you were curious enough, it was in no way a disturbance. The rooms are clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff is superb and knowledgeable of their surroundings, the offer of a cool beverage as soon as you arrive, the free breakfast and evening ice cream social makes the trip worth talking about and keeps the kids happy. My family and I had a great !!! time here, next trip to Tampa will be spent right there.....thanks to George and his wonderful staff for a nice and pleasant trip.

Room Tip: I got a room on the 4th floor so did my brother and his family and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yjamming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    115
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
252
139
27
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I used to live in Tampa Palms, so this is the hotel that I always use when I come back to Tampa to visit friends. It is off Bruce B. Downs so it is quiet, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Check-in was quick, I was told I was being given a complimentary fridge (I love having a fridge in my room) and we were given a room on the 1st floor so I didn't need to wait for elevators. The fridge was not in the room when we arrived but after a phone call to the front desk, it quickly arrived. When I wanted to use the fitness room and my key card didn't work, a visit to the front desk to let them know and they immediately got someone up to the fitness room to let me in and then fix the lock. I'll always return to this hotel when I visit New Tampa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmgronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my husband picked this hotel based off my TripAdvisor app. We had spent the day at Busch Gardens and needed a place to sleep before heading to Fort Lauderdale the next morning. When we arrived, Judy at the front desk (I think that was her name?) was AMAZINGLY welcoming. We were offered cold drinks and an efficient check-in process! Our room was spotless with a comfortable bed. We did not get to use the pool because it was horribly rainy out, but it looked really nice. When we were trying to decide where to eat dinner, Judy let us look through the huge book of restaurants at the front desk and gave her own suggestions too. We chose to eat at Wood Fired Pizza (it was great!). The next morning we slept in too late to get breakfast, but the other front desk lady recommended First Watch on our way out of town, another great pick. Thanks for the clean, quiet place to stay before we had to drive a few more hours the next morning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This Hotel has a great friendly staff!
Willing to go above the usual. We had booked through Busch Gardens and they put us in a normal double room for a week, we told the manager we needed a fridge....And She up- graded us to a Suitte at no charge. WOW ,.it was very nice. The hot breakfast was good to head out for our Day full of energy.
Stay here if your headed to the Tampa Bay Area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4PeasInApod2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We got away for a little post baby get away! We enjoyed our stay here great staff. Good free breakfast and ice cream treats each night! My husband and I enjoyed a nice quiet lounge by the pool. We also enjoyed the nice comfy bed and catching up on our sleep!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollybwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I love staying here. George Sandona, the manager, is wonderful! He is so serious about making your stay enjoyable, he has his cell number posted in the elevators to call ANYTIME there is an issue. The staff are so kind and courteous and helpful. I am part of a quilting group that meets about 5 times a year for a 3-day weekend of sewing and friendship. We had tried several other hotels before this Holiday Inn Express and decided to keep coming back here. The beds are the best I have ever slept on, even better than my one at home! The breakfast is amazing every day. But the staff cannot be beat. I recommend this hotel for anyone, from singles to families!!

Room Tip: They are ALL good. The beds are amazing! The first floor on the east end is an entrance from the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen Sands R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is not bad but they are in full construction mode; the lobby is closed; the halls are a mess and while they are in the process of such a big job, they should have closed. I would simply select another option while this remodeling is being done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TWGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear TW,

I am so sorry to hear that our remodeling was disruptive to your stay. We have worked very hard to limit guest exposure, but I understand that the lobby remodel was impossible to ignore during certain parts of the process.

I am happy to let you know that this phase will be complete by the end of the week and we will resume operations in a newly designed upscale environment in just a few more days. The process was challenging but I promise that the upgrades will be worth coming back for.

Please contact me directly if I can assist you with a special offer to return and see the final product on your next trip.

Wishing you happy & safe travels,
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
10.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
15.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
14.2 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Address: 8310 Galbraith Rd, I-75 (exit 270) at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#12 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing