We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a great experience”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My son and I just returned from 4 nights in Tampa watching winter baseball. I chose this hotel because it was central to the baseball parks and it received great reviews on trip advisor. It was very obvious to me that each and every staff member truly cared about making our stay complete. I have to say that Judy at the front desk was so helpful. Her cheerful and helpful attitude was very much appreciated. What hotel offers a complimentay drink at check-Inn? To go down for a very complete all-included breakfast at 8:30am and then return 45 minutes later to a totally cleaned up, madeup room was quite impressive. This is a hotel that pays attention to details; Truly hospitable. It was a refreshing reminder about what customer service really means!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willmy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    123
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
281
145
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleepy Hollow
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel through Busch Gardens...as we were planning on visiting the park...so we were on their site. We stayed four days...three nights....and had a 14 day pass to Busch Gardens. Our room had a king-sized bed...and was extremely comfortable.
This was a wonderful hotel. We were greeted at the check in desk...and offered a beverage..water, beer, or something else. I have NEVER had this happen before. Each and every one of the desk staff were polite and efficient!
Our room was wonderful....the breakfast area was top-notch...and the people who staff the breakfast area work really hard to keep the area clean...and all food fully stocked. Of all the places that we stayed on this recent Florida trip...this Holiday Inn had the best breakfast!
At 8:00 pm....they would roll out a freezer with ice cream novelties. This was a real treat...especially after coming back from all the walking at Busch Gardens!
We met the manager in the breakfast area. He stopped by and asked us how our experience was. In addition, he had posted a "letter" in the elevators stating that they wanted their guests experience to be a 10...and to please contact him if we had any concerns. In other words...they wanted to make your experience the best it could be...while you were there....we never had to contact him for anything...as our total experience was just perfect!
There were a variety of restaurants close to the hotel...and it was convenient to hop on the road and drive to Busch Gardens (no shuttle from this hotel...as it is a little far)
I noticed a "vase" of umbrellas by the door...for guests to use, if necessary...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheilsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is an update to a review from one year ago.

There's lots of great things about this hotel and a few little problems, none of which should keep you from staying here if you get a good price or the hotel is convenient to where you want to be.

Among the great things: super friendly staff who greet you warmly when you check in and look up to say hello every time you walk by (this is an improvement from last year). A free beer or bottle of water when you check in. Free ice cream in the lobby every evening. A pretty good breakfast (if you stick with the cold stuff) and a free newspaper. Free wifi. And the hotel is clean and quite. In particular, this is one of the few hotels where you don't hear doors slamming up and down the hallways. Somehow, they've managed to quiet their doors.

On the small list of things to improve: bathroom cups and coffee cups in the room weren't replenished after being used. No fresh fruit one morning at breakfast. Various kinds of "eggs" that didn't taste like eggs. Or like anything. A toaster that took 5 minutes to make a piece of toast (long lines and folks who gave up). Slow wifi that often dropped the connection.

And one thing that Holiday Inn itself cannot fix. Although the location is convenient to lots of area attractions, it is annoying to get to. The left hand turn from Bruce B Downs Blvd can take several light cycles and as long as ten minutes. Add to this the timing of the light coming off of 275 south and just getting into the hotel can take 10-15 minutes longer than you expect.

Overall, nice place to stay if you need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
"Dear Dr. King,

Thanks so much for the great feedback! We are always in the process of reviewing our operations for areas of improvement. Your honest comments drive our desire to make your next stay "great".

We will be reviewing your "short list" , and your compliments, at our weekly Continuous Improvement Meeting. Also, I have shared your comments on the signal timing with the City of Tampa. I'll bet they care just as much as I do, about the impressions they leave on our travelers.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

-George Sandona, General Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I went there with my family for spring break, we had a 2 Queen Suite. It was perfect for us. Many restaurants in the area! The hotel is very quiet. Busch Gardens is close by. Ask the hotel for discount tickets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann270927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at other hotels where there is a smokey or musty odor, but with this one not a smell. The garbage cans are very clean and also the carpet. The only thing was not so good is the washing machine and dryer on the third floor. Usually my skin would itch soon as I go on the beds. But this one was so clean. The breakfast was great. The pancake maker was not bad at all. The temperature was very good too, as there was a few cold days. Definitely stay there again. Everything is close by. The staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. We were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAOMI L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I just returned from a 7 night stay at this HI with my sister and niece. This was the perfect hotel for 3 women traveling alone. Very quiet and safe location. Anything you needed was a short distance away. Movie theater across the street, restaurants, grocery store, etc..

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite..... Enough room for 3 women and all their belongings. Hotel was spotless. Beds were comfortable, pool area was quiet and very nice. The best service I have seen at any hotel we have stayed in...especially Judy at the front desk. I had many questions regarding directions and places to visit.. she always took the time to answer..even printed out directions for me. The GM came around and asked how we were enjoying our stay..he was truly interested in our comments.

The included breakfast was by far the best I have ever eaten at a hotel... The eggs were wonderful...as were the warm cinnamon rolls. Some of the furniture could be replaced.. it was showing signs of wear. They will be doing a major renovation this spring.

The location is perfect if you want to stay on the northeast side of Tampa.. We felt very safe in that area of Tampa. 15 mins to Hard Rock Casino..depending on trafic... approx 40 mins to airport..which was not a bad drive at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmalibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The front desk greeted us and offered a beverage at check-in just like they advertised. Ice Cream Social is just serve yourself pre-packaged ice cream treats, but for free who's complaining. Breakfast was good ... they promote a pancake maker vs a waffle maker. Not bad, but think I'd prefer the waffles. Everything about our stay was very good except the wi-fi. It was bad at best. Location of the hotel is good, easy to get to off the expressway and a major road. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBJB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear SB,

Thanks for the compliments! I am sorry that our WiFI wasn't meeting your needs during your stay. If you ever experience this again in our hotel, please call the desk and we will reset your access point. Our system is FIOS, so normal operation renders excellent service throughout the hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed the room, the ice cream and the hospitality. We look forward to serving you again!

-George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
15.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
10.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Address: 8310 Galbraith Rd, I-75 at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing