We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was perfect host for our sports teams.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Davie, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel was perfect host for our sports teams.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed with our travel lacrosse teams for two nights and they were perfect hosts. Judy gave everyone a marvelous welcome. Check in was easy. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The breakfast was very good. The kids enjoyed the heated pool. WIFI worked great. Location near tons of restaurants. All around great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    107
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
239
129
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was #1 for Tampa, so we knew it'd be a safe choice - and it was. It's hard to be disappointed but at the same time, don't expect to be bowled over by anything other than great service (and the service was good!)

Judy on the front desk was awesome - very friendly, and the beer on arrival was a nice touch.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the location was pretty good - restaurants across the street, and a movie theatre the next building over.

My problem was just that this is a little expensive. The rate was $115 + tax for a pre-paid. What did I get for the rate? An average room for Florida - clean and functional, but nothing fancy. The breakfast was lacklustre - bacon was greasy and chewy, items were renewed slowly, and there was either bacon or sausage available on different days -- never both together. I expected a full hot breakfast but what I got was something that fell short of Denny's.

Things like the welcome drink on arrival and the free ice cream sandwich served in the lobby at the evening are nice touches, but that's all they are. What did they cost the hotel, maybe $1-2 a piece? This was a $79 hotel at best. A beer and an ice cream doesn't warrant a $40/night overage!

I suppose I may have given this 4/5, but I transferred to a local apartment for $65/night with 2 beds + 2 baths on VRBO, and the place was exceptional... so that made realize just how much we were overpaying here.

Nice stay, but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringsteenFan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Springsteen Fan,

Thanks so much for your compliments and feedback. Our goal is to provide exceptional quality and service and we invest more in every area of our operation to make that happen.

I also want to let you know that our extended stay rates are very much in line with short-term apartment rentals, and if you have a similar need in the future, we would love to be of service. For future overnight stays, we have several discount programs available, like "Book Early and Save" and honor traditional membership discounts like AAA Auto Club.

Finally, thank you for your compliments about our team. They work tirelessly to make you travels happy and stress-free. If there is anything, I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Wishes for a Happy Relocation!
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
264 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night, having flown in to Tampa International. The hotel was within easy access of the airport - it took us about 40 minutes following the excellent Mapquest directions. Check in was slick, and the complimentary beers slipped down a treat. Our room was large and meticulously clean. Wifi worked perfectly. The kingsized bed was very comfortable, provided with a choice of firm and soft pillows. There was no noise at all in the corridor or from neighbouring rooms.

In the morning, we went down to the breakfast room. A buffet stand offered a selection of different foods, with cooked options including scrambled eggs and bacon. I managed to produce a pancake from the pancake machine (every home should have one) with the assistance of the kind attendant. However, the only fruit available was over-ripe bananas and the fruit juice was very watery - more akin to squash. The clientele seemed to be of the 'grab-and-go' persuasion, making the experience similar to eating in a works canteen. Not the hotel's fault, clearly. Merely an observation.

Check out was as painless as checking in - convivial and efficient.

Room Tip: We were at the end of a corridor on the third floor. This was a very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen_thesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thanks so much for choosing our hotel and the compliments about our service. Your feedback on the breakfast is well-received and we will be improving in those areas today.

If I can assist you on any future stays, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Wishing you Happy Travels,
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After a long day on the road, this place has a fabulous welcome. Not only is Judy a welcoming, effusive and entertaining host she also hands you a cold drink of your choice. So in my case I was already relaxing by the time I got to my clean, spacious and well equipped room. Amenities are very good and with a short walk you have shops and several good food outlets, so you don't have to drive out to find a meal. Very hospitable and well equipped hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidslammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. The location is quiet en still interesting, driving distance to Busch Gardens and Ybor City (which we wanted to visit) was reasonable and some nice restaurants in the area. The receptionist was very helpful in giving us information and the manager had a pleasant chat with us at breakfast and inquired if there was anything they could do to make our stay even more comfortable. Next time in Tampa, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teletubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Everything about this hotel was outstanding! My room was very clean and very well maintained. The staff was extremely courteous, professional, and overly friendly. The breakfast was delicious. The pool was clean and the perfect temperature. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed with this hotel for two years in a row. My daughters college softball team stays here for Tampa area tournaments.

The staff are great - really friendly and helpful. You get a beer or other cold drink when you check in and ice cream is free every night. The breakfast is great and well staffed.

This is a gem of a stay because of the high quality management and staff.

i will be back, with the team and parents, again in March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
15.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
10.0 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Address: 8310 Galbraith Rd, I-75 (exit 270) at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing