We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great view of manatees!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center

Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center
Book In Advance
$200.00*
and up
Motorbike Ride to Manatee Viewing Center in Tampa
Ranked #4 of 187 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors come to this warm water viewing center to see manatees, an endangered species of marine mammals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view of manatees!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great place to see lots of manatees during the cold season, in their own habitat free to come and go as they please. Especially love the babies. Have been coming almost every winter for 17 years

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    387
    118
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Long way to travel to see manatees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I will start with the fact I've lived in Florida for much of my life and have seen manatees in the wild many times. They are facinating, adorable creatures. For those of you who haven't seen them in the wild and don't want to go to the Lowry Park Zoo (where they have a great manatee exhibit and hospital), the Teco Viewing Center is an alternative.

The best part of the attraction is that it is free (thank you Teco). However, you have to time your visit to when it is cold. And don't base your decision to go entirely on the web-cams at the Teco website, because those cameras are not very close to the boardwalks that people are allowed on. We went toward the later part of the season. There were lots of manatees on the webcam, but when we got to the boardwalks all you saw was manatees breaking the surface of the water almost a full football field away. None were close to the boardwalk. This was a bit disappointing to drive as far as we did from North Tampa to see very little.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gatorzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This place is one of a kind, totally worth the stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Having never seen manatees in the wild before this place was amazing and nearly unbelievable. We saw 6 up close and 30-40 farther away. We were mesmerized and watched for nearly an hour. GO HERE when in Tampa

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Manatees & More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a wonderful experience and it's free! Once you get over the fact that you are in the shadow of the power station (which let's face it is why the manatees & other wildlife are there seeking warm water) there is a rich variety of wildlife. On our visit in early April 2013 (the end of the season) we saw 10+ manatees, stingray, small sharks, tarpon, fiddler crabs and many other fish. The site is great with a pier, raised viewing platforms, flower garden displays, plenty of car parking, exhibition area, several toilets, a small snack bar (we enjoyed corn dogs & nachos) and a manatee gift shop. We found it was a great place for a 1-2 hour stop if passing the Tampa area or a filler at the beginning or end of the day exploring the Tampa Bay area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
212 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“CLOSED APRIL 15th - Nov”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Closed now look at the website for details. Outdoor area is open but not the indoor facilities. Will not see manatees when weather is warm like it is now.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wmralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center also viewed

 

Been to Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing