We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Viewing of Manatees”

Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Motorcycle Ride to Manatee Viewing Center
Ranked #5 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors come to this warm water viewing center to see manatees, an endangered species of marine mammals.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Free Viewing of Manatees”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife stopped in here on our way from Tampa to Fort Myers.
Worth the stop to see Manatees and other marine life. Keep in mind that this is a power plant so you will see and smell an ugly power plant. We say about 10 Manatees. 2 were active the rest seemed to be sleeping.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,191
    478
    143
    21
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten path”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I didn't know what to expect, but I wanted to show someone a manatee that had never seen one. I did a quick search online and found this place. Guess what! We saw several manatees. The water was a little dark so you could only see them when they came up for air. Totally worth it though. FREE Parking! One hour is plenty of time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cows of the Sea.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Manatees come by the electric plant in the fall/winter due to the water around the plant being warm. They have a nice overlook deck and a pretty long boadwalk out in the water. It's a great place to see Manatees in the wild and hey, its free. I would like to remind everyone that they are wild animals, so there is no guarantee they will be there, or that you will see them. However when I went they were everywhere.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SrirachaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Each time I come to the Manatee Viewing Center I remember how glorious the manatees are. They are so graceful for being as large as they are, such beautiful animals. The viewing area provides a wonderful setting to watch them in their natural habitat. This is a special spot in Tampa and shouldn't be missed an extra bonus is that it's free.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Floydova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyed an afternoon trip to see the manatees”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Visited once in January, very easy to find coming from Lakeland, Fl. The viewing area boardwalks are very nice and easy to get to, free parking and free museum for children that was very nice. My children (11-1, all girls) enjoyed them selves very much and I did as well. We will be going back again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center also viewed

 

Been to Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing