We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not bad at all”

Econo Lodge Conference Center
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Econo Lodge Conference Center
Ranked #132 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its not bad at all”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

It was one of not many afordable hotels with indoor pool close to the Busch gardens. I didnt like the reviews much but decided to stay anyway. Place is not bas at all well the area is but rooms were really clean and we requested extra towels every day and we accualy got them. When we checked in he person working there was rude but it got better as the shift changed. We tried to complain to manager but he was nowhere to be found . Breakfast was ok. Really loved the indoor pool and the hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngmomChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    5
    11
    32
See reviews for
20
4
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2009

It's not Marriott, but you get clean bed for very resonable price. Stuff was friendly for the most part... Free breakfast was ok had to pay extra for the hot one but it was worth it. I loved the indoor pool (didn't use it but it looks really nice).
I didn't really like the area, i would't go there for a walk but i haven't seen anyone on the parking lot and my car was in one piece.
I think i would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessygirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed there two years ago and it seemed alright.So last year we decided to stay there again.When we got there,the first room we were asigned to,the key wouldn't fit so we had to go back to the desk.While the clerk was deciding what room to put us in,twice he said,"No I can't put you in that room its dirty."I couldn't believe that he actually said that out loud.And it was not peak season.It was middle of Sept.When we got our room,it smelt kinda of musty.I ALWAYS check for roaches(doesn't matter what hotel)I didn't find any,so I thought okay we'll stay the night.We ordered pizza(take out)and we decided to eat it at the little coffee bar inside the hote.We had just sat down to eat and low and behold,over my the coffee machine was one hell of a roach.You could of rode it home.Well,need I say more.The next day after my boyfrien ate breakfast or should I say an muffin(they have a crappy breakfast)we left.Never to return,We always stay at the Comfort Suites in Kissimmee and it is a great hotel.They really should change the name of this one because anyone who stays in this hotel probably wouldn' want to try another Comfort Suites.May be they should just tear it down.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisymaeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2009

This review is not solely a review of the Comfort Inn Conference Center at Tampa, but is also a review of the Choice Privileges Rewards Program which helps represent and
promote this hotel. We are and have been members of the Choice Privileges Rewards Program for many years. We have used this program because of the number of nights
that we stay at hotels/motels per year. Through this program individuals can receive cash back or free nights based upon the number of nights stayed.
A friend and I planned a two-week Goldwing motorcycle vacation. We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the Tampa Bay Busch Gardens Adventure Park for
which we had purchased tickets. Upon arrival at approximately 6 p.m. on Sunday July 5th, we were greeted graciously by the desk clerk on duty that afternoon. The lobby of
the hotel is probably one of the nicest I have seen at any Choice Hotel at which we have stayed. There is an impressive water fountain in the lobby which makes quite and
impression on all arriving guests. Unfortunately, this is the end of the positive things about this hotel and where our nightmarish experience began.
After receiving our room key (the room was paid for using points that we had accumulated by staying at several Choice Privileges hotels previously on our trip), we were
told laughingly by the desk clerk to, "Park our motorcycle on the side of the hotel because if it's stolen, that's where the surveillance cameras are and at least it will be
recorded". Now, I don't know about anyone else, but to me this would be like a waiter telling someone eating at a restaurant to, "Sit by the door so when you choke on a
bone, the paramedics can at least attend to you if they arrive in time!" However, seeing as the room was located in that direction we complied and found an entrance near
where our room was suppose to be. After unpacking the bike, I grabbed my room key expecting to need it to open the entrance door. However, as we found out now and
more about later, none of the many entrances to this hotel have locks on them! In fact, many of the doors can not even be closed! Our room was located on the second floor
over-looking the indoor pool. We carried our gear upstairs and tried to enter our room. Interestingly enough, our room was locked by the door safety latch from the INSIDE! I
made my way back down to the front desk only to be told that, "That happens sometimes." As you can imagine, my friend and I were starting to get just a little concerned
about security in this hotel.
After receiving a key to a different room, we unpacked and called the front desk to see where we could purchase something to drink and get a light snack. We were told
just across the street was a liquor store. We weren’t too thrilled about shopping at a liquor store but thought we could make due. Heading to the exits, we were very

surprised to find as I explained before that none of the many entrances to this hotel have locks on them and many of the doors can not even be closed. This is when we

really started to get concerned about safety at this hotel.
Exiting the hotel and walking across the street we were met with yet another surprise. The liquor store was also a bar and the whole building was so covered with gang
style graffiti that we not only refused to go in the place, we wouldn't even go near it! Instead we did our shopping at the gas station across the street from the hotel which not
surprisingly, the checkout clerk sits behind the thickest sheet of bullet proof glass that I have ever seen. My guess is that it is at least 8 inches thick. At this point we
decided to just head back to the hotel and lock ourselves in until morning.
Arriving back at the room, we discovered that we had left the portable GPS which we had carried with us in the bike. I left the room and headed to the second floor exit
which also heads to the outside second floor balcony for the rooms located on the outward side of the building where the motorcycle was located. As I made the corner I
was startled to find about a dozen people wearing medallions, baggy pants, chains and backwards hats on the balcony directly over my motorcycle. After going through the
previously mentioned experiences at and around this hotel, I was really starting to get concerned not only for our only means of travel but also our personal safety. I quickly
retrieved the GPS from the bike by way of the lower exit and headed immediately back to the room. After locking the deadbolt on the room door, we decided to place a call

to the local police department to find out about the neighborhood we were in. This met us with yet another surprise...there wasn't a phone book in our room! All I have to say

is thank GOD for the portable GPS unit that I just risked my life retrieving. We powered it up and found the number to the local police department. After telling the officer on
duty the location and name of our hotel, he informed us that as we were from Wisconsin us staying in that hotel would be like us staying on the north side of Milwaukee. He
told us to leave the hotel immediately or at the very least leave as soon as we could before dark as the time was now 7:30 p.m. He told us if we DID stay and were to leave
our room, to NOT take any wallets, watches or any other valuables that we wanted to keep. He said this is one of the worst areas for crime in Tampa. He also went on to
say that they advertise this area and the Tampa Bay Busch Gardens area as tourist friendly and then he added, "Trust me, they are not". I then asked him how he thought we should we should get to our bike and pack as it was being hovered over by some not so nice looking individuals. He told me to leave all of my valuables in the room and if I thought it possible, to get to the bike and take it to the front entrance and pack there. He thought that if I made it look like I was just leaving and returning later that I might
be alright. Otherwise, he said he could send someone to escort me to the front entrance. As all of the individuals were on the balcony before, I thought I could at least sneak
out the lower entrance and would be alright.
I told my friend what the officer said and also told her to start packing immediately. I left the room and headed for the lower exit only to find that now the parking lot also
held several low-rider style cars with even more people wearing medallions, baggy pants, chains and backwards hats. As I exited the building below the balcony full of
individuals I heard one of them spit off the balcony at me. I also was on the receiving end of a remark of, "Hey, where are you going #%^%$&#." I jumped on the bike and
headed luckily without anymore altercations to the front entrance. I locked the front forks of the bike and headed as fast as I could to the room. My friend was completely
packed and we headed out. It took us each two trips to bring all of the gear into the room, but we made only one trip out as we were so concerned for our safety. We packed
up the bike and I gave the room keys to the front desk clerk. She asked why we were leaving and all I said was, "Because we weren't happy." We then traveled 30 miles
north of Tampa as we already decided to pass on the Busch Garden tickets even though we had already purchased them.
The following day, my friend called the hotel to explain our situation and to talk to the manager and see if there was a possibility of getting back the points we had used to
book the room that we didn't stay in. We felt that if we felt unsafe to stay in the hotel let alone the area that we should not be charged for the room. After being told several
times that the assistant manager would call us back as he was busy, we tried talking to the manager whose name is Randall. This however was met with the same results. After several days we
tried contacting Choice Privileges who assured us that they would look into the situation. Several representatives (one of whom was extremely rude and was quite annoyed
that we would even bother him about such a matter) and days later we finally talked to a representative that said that we could file a formal complaint which meant that she
would log it in Choice Privileges system and would also contact the manager of the hotel. The manager would then have 72 hours to contact us to try and resolve the
situation. If he didn't, the hotel would receive an unfavorable mark against them from Choice Privileges. After once again not being contacted by the hotel, we again called
Choice Privileges and was told that Choice Privileges was assured by the hotel manager that he had sent us a certified letter to resolve the situation. To date we have once
again received nothing.
Today is July 14th. We contacted Choice Privileges and told them we have still received nothing from the hotel and informed them we will never again stay at a Choice
Privileges hotel. If it were possible to give this hotel a negative rating - we would.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spreemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

First Im gonna say I actually did not sleep at this hotel. However I spent alot of time here because this is where the majority of my extended family stayed for the duration of our family reunion in tampa. I am soooooooo glad I didnt have to stay there. It wasnt like completely gross. There were no rodents or insects in the rooms. The bed spreadz and mattresses felt comfy but the hallwayz and roomz were just worn. I mean it was just all pretty standard. Alot of my family members were having trouble with their toiletz being backed up. I used one of their bathroomz and it flushed super slow and didnt flush all the way. So when you flush it lookz like you didnt. The outdoor pool looked really nice, the indoor pool was really nice but if you dont want alot of noise or you want privacy do not let them put you in a room by the indoor pool. Obviously there will be alottttt of rowdy children with little to no supervision. The most annoying thing was the elevator in one of the buildings takez FOREVER to come down and therez only 4 floors. And it ALWAYZ stopz on the 2nd floor for no damn reason on the way down.
Itz right off I-275 and easy to get to and therez alot of places to find food around there. Also, front desk staff is wack. If you want luxury, don't stay here. If you just want some clean linens and a nice bed to sleep in this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmenityzGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, VA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

I read all the reviews and was quite nervous about staying there. But it is the only hotel in Tampa with an indoor pool that I could find. When I called the reservations desk to ensure the indoor pool was open I told the clerk that I had read the reviews and asked questions about the negative comments. He acknowledged the reviews, and explained his side.

This is my take on the facility. I have stayed at $200 a night rooms in Tampa and had to pay for the internet connectivity, housekeeping would clean around clothes accidentally left on the floor, and the pool promptly closed at 10pm, with guards patrolling the area. However at this $80.00 a night hotel, internet was free, housekeeping folded my pants and placed them on the bed, and the indoor pool "kind of closed at 10". if your children were behaved staff tended to look the other way while you enjoyed a midnight swim, and the free breakfast was awesome.

As far as the staff is concerned Every person I encountered was very plesant, even when they were faced with the guets that came ready to complain about everything ( I witnessed this twice in my three day stay).

It is a great value for the service, and I will undoubtedly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lets_go_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
destin,fl
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

This is fine if you're going to bush gardens. The beds could have been better though. The pools were heated, nice hot tub and clean. Free breakfest, if you want eggs,bacon. they offer this also. Everything was great, the front desk sign in was pleasant, I'd stay again!!!

  • Liked — indoor heated pool
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shrimpchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Conference Center

Property: Econo Lodge Conference Center
Address: 820 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612-8005 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Tampa
Tampa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing