We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Splitters Comedy Club

Side Splitters Comedy Club
Ranked #4 of 98 Nightlife in Tampa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Side Splitters Comedy Club has been Tampa Bay's premier comedy showplace since 1992. We have live comedy shows with nationally touring headliners each week Thursday - Sunday. We offer food, a full bar, and all our shows are now non-smoking. Please keep us in mind for your date night, birthday party, or upcoming fundraiser.
alexandria va
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good comedians. As for the venue, the food was pretty lacking, mozzarella cheese sticks that were probably microwaved for one minute. And the remaining options weren't appealing. Also, minor point, but a little confusing of a layout as when we got there it was pretty crowded, we weren't sure if we were waiting in line to get in.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank greggt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    8
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tampa florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Comedy clubs are always such fun. This comedy club is more intimate than the comedy club in Ybor city

They both attract very good comedians. They both have drink minimums.

Be sure to register your name, email address, and phone number as they will call you and give you tremendously reduced prices and sometimes even free tickets.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank manusod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Smells like a BIG ash tray.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I'd go there more than once every few years if it didn't smell like people have been smoking in there for 25+ years. The place smells like it is not anywhere close to being a smoke-free facility. Old carpet, curtains, etc. hold the smell. If sensitive to smells, don't go.

Some acts are better than others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonet Point, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Review the headliner before you go!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I didn't, and got a filthy-mouthed, fat black lady talking about getting shot, doing drugs and other illegal stuff. The 2 warm-up acts were funny and mostly clean, and the servers were polite. Next time I'll research the headline act before I go!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“How do they make any money when it's so cheap to go?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We frequent side splitters and its great for date might, party of friends and everything in between. Call ahead and ask if there are
Specials or sign up for their emails. I always get free tickets. I've seen no names comedians that were hysterical there, and big names that weren't. Comedy is a grab bag but its always a great time. Usually the place is packed but it's a nice very dark setting. Go, laugh, have fun, bring lots of friends and have an after party at your house.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nannette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Splitters Comedy Club also viewed

 

Been to Side Splitters Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing