We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Sunday market + festivals”

Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple
Ranked #37 of 2,405 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“wonderful Sunday market + festivals”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I just came back from celebrating the fun Songkran Festival there, all while taking in the delicious Sunday market (which happens weekly).

Water splashing, meditation, gorgeous River front, picnic tables, a myriad of Thai dishes served... LOVE it! We couchsurfers meet up there quite often, it's a great place to take out-of-towners or locals wishing to spend a different, relaxing Sunday afternoon.

The 4 out of 5 stars is for the restaurant part. Why you may ask? Some of the curries are not as great as the ones I've had at other Thai restaurants in Tampa. Case in point? The Mussamman curry. Extremely bland, couldn't even taste the peanuts.. BUT! everything else (for the most part) is absolutely delicious and EXTREMELY cheap by Tampa standards. So go! :)

MUST NOTE: CASH ONLY! and get there by 9 AM or else you'll be stuck in long lines

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaBoricua87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    51
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Deptford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great day and wonderful experience!!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a great day at the Thai Temple. My friends and I went on a Sunday to experience the Thai food at the market. Thanks to Tripadvisor, we knew to go early for easy parking and shorter food lines. I also got the tip to try the sticky rice and mangoes. What a great tip it was! Everyone in my group of six tried it and loved it. I also bought the sweet bean pie. I should have purchased two! By the time it made the rounds with my friends, there was little left for me. Oh we'll, it was a great day with wonderful food. I'm sure we'll be back!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Awesome - do NOT pass this place up!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Yes, it may not seem like a place that you would want to eat in as you are driving through the neighborhood getting to it, but don't let that fool you. The food is awesome.

Only open on Sunday mornings/early afternoons, this is a destination and you need to prepare accordingly - unless you enjoy long lines and trying desperately to find a seat.

We got there around 9:45 a.m. and had no problem with parking, finding multiple open picnic tables and only having a 5 - 7 minute noodle wait. However, by 10:30 a.m., it was a completely different story. You may want to bring extra napkins with you and possibly some sort of tupperware in case you can't finish your noodles.

The food was awesome! The recent reviews are spot on regarding the food.

The noodles come like this:
Small bowl $6
Large bowl $8
You can get beef or pork, and the noodle sizes are angel hair (skinniest), medium, and wide.

When you get to the noodle lady, she reminded me of the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld. You gotta know what you want because the line is long and they gotta keep things moving quickly. So, know what you want before you get there and order promptly. It goes like this, "Small bowl, wide noodle, beef" - now keep moving.

After you get the bowl of noodles, there is a condiment station - go easy on those spices. Load up on napkins as you may need extras to wipe off the picnic table. Here you can grab additional plasticware for other dishes you may try.

In addition to the noodles, we tried the sticky rice with mango (delicious), a skewer of grilled beef (reminded me kinda of beef jerky), grilled chicken wings (they were okay), and a chicken curry potato pastry puff (really good).

Everything seems to be priced from $3 - $5, with the noodle bowls at $6 & $8. And, bring cash, they don't take anything but that.

I was too full to try anything else, but those fried bananas looked really good.

Here's a tip: if you go in the spring, then beware of the oak trees which cover most of the property, as they drop pollen constantly. I did see a few picnic tables where oak trees were not directly over top of them, this would be better to sit in the spring so you don't get pollen in your food.

After you eat, you can visit the garden area where plants are for sale - to the left when facing the river. Most orchids are $10 - $12 and are beautiful. They also sell herbs for $5 - $7.

Overall, this place is better than a restaurant, it's a destination. I can't wait to go back. This time I'm starving myself the day before and going to load up on a big bowl of noodles and going to get those bananas!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TrentFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT AND WARM PEOPLE TO MEET”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Arriving on a Sunday at 10am proved to be late. Traffic was already congested once in the parking lot.
It is a beautiful setting along the Palm River with an abundance of picnic tables.
Under roof, the soup line, and I mean line, was long, however, worth the wait. For six dollars, Thai famed noodle soup, your choice beef or pork was an amazing discovery., Not to worry, not too spicy, however, you can add your favorite spices at the condiment table upon getting your soup. The small bowl is $6.00, enough filling and satisfying or the large one for $8.00.
You can also venture to other Thai home made foods from barbeque to desert. People are friendly and they come from many other destinations. It is a family friendly environment and you can even partake in the purchase of Thai veggies and more for take home.
There is also a beautiful, quaint Thai temple, be sure to take off your shoes, before entering.
Upon exiting, the traffic trying to enter the grounds was backed up for about 1/2 mile. All cooks and workers are strictly volunteer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Food in a scenic and social setting”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Wat (!) a fine way to spend a Sunday on the river! Two people ate well for $13 and were joined at a riverfront picnic table by a couple newly moved to Tampa. People watching, temple touring while strolling the little river walk, and perusing the plant sale rounded out the 3 hour experience. Can attest to the high quality of the vegetarian egg rolls at $1 each, the vegetarian pad Thai at $5, the generous "small" bowl of phat noodle soup for $6. Better than most Thai restaurants and all for the very good cause of supporting this Bddist community.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank eileen645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple also viewed

 

Been to Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing