We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wrong kind of branding” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9402 Corporate Lake Dr, Tampa, FL 33634   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #80 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wrong kind of branding”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Horrible experience. Phones did not work when I called for directions and the desk person told me "it was the rain." My response? This is Florida. Seriously? Had to call Hotwire for directions as the reservations line gave me the WRONG directions after their property had not answered the p[hone. Wi Fi very slow but the kicker was the dangling light bulb (energy efficient) from the floor lamp in the room. EEK. My friend was so impressed that she booked a room at the nearest military base for the next night. oh- one caveat. awesome bed...........

Room Tip: don't bring anything that requires connecting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doratallahassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear doratallahassee,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I have always found Holiday Inn Express properties to be a little hit-or-miss. Some are nice. Some are a little dumpy. This particular property fits into the "nice" category. The lobby and breakfast areas are clean and relatively modern. Breakfast foods varied slightly each day. The rooms were fine - the only downside is that the air conditioning is a floor box unit which is a little noisier and less easy to control from thermostat systems. That said, I had no issue with the noise level or room temperature. Please note that it does not appear that hallways (at least in 4th floor) are air conditioned. This doesn't impact the rooms but the hallway was hot. Staff was friendly, helpful and bantered pleasantly with regular guests. All in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Large, clean rooms. Friendly staff and great accommodations. Outdoor pool,
breakfast, flat screen tvs, and plenty of space to move around. Close to Tampa airport and plenty of restaurants. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spdboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Definately above average experiance. The front desk staff was very helpful and sweet. I asked if there was a store nearby that I could buy a phone charger as I had left mine at home and they found a box of them that had been left behind by forgetful travelers like me. They fixed me right up and were genuinely happy to help me. As a priority club member I was offered a snack and a drink from the little store they had in the lobby at no charge. The room was clean and modern. Decent resturants were close by and it all was pleasent and easy during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollywoodGrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an older property and the wear and tear shows. The wallpaper in my bathroom had split (water damage ?) and was moldy. There was also hair in the bathtub. Bedding was rather flimsy and the old style air conditioner (not digital) did not work well. You could also hear the noise from the airport. Breakfast was decent, although the breakfast area was small. The fitness room had three machines (bike, treadmill, elliptical) that were very very old. Best thing about this place is the Boston's restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EconMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear EconMom,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over all issues you had during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, we have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this property for a 3 week span starting March 3rd-22nd..The nicest staff especially Michelle and Daisy were there to answer all of my questions and take care of my needs.. Room was very nice and clean... Good breakfast every morning....The General Manager was Christy and she was there to take care of everything...Just a great hotel and I highly recommend this property to anyone...great location close to mall and restuarants and high corporate area.....thanks guys for a great stay....

Room Tip: stayed on 1st floor all 3 weeks.. very close to breakfast area and work out room....no noise problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here the past five nights and found my room and the hotel to be of above average quality. The room I stayed in was on the first floor directly across from the workout room. At first I was concerned there might be more noise because of this but it turned out not to be an issue. the workout room has 5 pieces of equipment available to use along with tv's for viewing, towels and water. There is a breakfast area in the lobby area which has more than adequate food both hot and cold available each morning starting at 6:30AM. There is coffee, hot water for tea,juices and milk to get you day going. I had a queen size bed which was quite comfortable. The room has a half wall splitting the living and sleeping areas. There was a couch and well lighted desk area (probably my only beef is there was not enough power outlets available for chargers, laptops, etc) There is wired/wireless Internet available which was ok...I ended up using my own wifi hotspot as it was more reliable. There is a small cabinet near the bathroom containing a microwave,mini fridge and sink. Overall my stay was pleasant and trouble free. I can easily recommend this location and would stay here again when in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jimbhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
6.9 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway

Address: 9402 Corporate Lake Dr, Tampa, FL 33634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Tampa, FL, this hotel's property is five miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and near attractions like Raymond James Stadium, George Steinbrenner Field and the Ed Radice Sports Complex. Whether you're visiting for fun or work, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel & Suites Tampa - Anderson Road / Veterans Expressway wants to make your trip memorable! Traveling on business? We cater to corporate and military travelers by offering free Wi-Fi and HSIA and a 24-hour Business Center. In addition, this Tampa, FL hotel's location is only minutes from all the major commercial districts and business parks, including Westshore, Woodlands Corporate Center, Thompson Center and North Port. Our accommodations are perfect for leisure travelers in town for sightseeing. Enjoy thrilling rides at nearby Busch Gardens or take the kids to Lowry Park Zoo and the Florida Aquarium to discover new creatures. And since the hotel's Tampa, Florida address is close to the beautiful beaches of Clearwater, you've got to visit to see the gorgeous shoreline. We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stay at our hotel's facility including pristine guest rooms and suites with an optional microwave and refrigerator, a beautiful outdoor pool and sundeck, fitness center, well-stocked sundry, and more! Call now to "Stay Smart" with us! Our hotel's guests in Tampa, Florida are made to feel at home. From being pet-friendly to offering a fresh hot breakfast every day, we want your stay to be comfortable and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Veteran`s Expressway
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing