We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Middle Eastern food”
Review of Petra

Petra
Ranked #358 of 2,400 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Description: Pera Restaurant & Grocery (813) 984-9800 Tampa FL 33617
Restaurant details
Description: Pera Restaurant & Grocery (813) 984-9800 Tampa FL 33617
McDonough GA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Middle Eastern food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The restaurant might be easy to miss, in a strip center surrounded by some other Middle Eastern businesses, a few blocks away from Busch Gardens, but we were glad we discovered it for lunch. We ordered appetizers: babaganoush, hummus, kibbee, and falafel. Everything was delicious, and the falafel was, the best we've ever had, hot, crunchy outside, soft and flavorful inside. As another reviewer said, the service is not hurried; one server for the whole room, but that's not a big deal. The food was definitely worth a return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank burns41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is great Middle Eastern food. The pickles with pita bread are delicious. The service isn't great, but the quality food and reasonable prices make up for it. This place is definitely worth a try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishinmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern Value”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Saturday evening and there was no wait, less then half full.
The restaurant is recently tastefully remodeled, with one large
open room and has comfortable booth and table seating.
Service is adequate, but they are definitely in no hurry.
Many Middle Eastern dishes are offered from appetizers, soups
and salads, to main courses and deserts. The lamb Shish
Kabob sandwich, similar to a giro, was a steal at $5.
Most combo dinners were in the $12 to $15 range, but with very
generous portions.
The food is quite authentic, especially the grilled meats, fresh
vegetables and herbs, although many of the sides were
obviously from processed commercial sources such as the
humus, baba ganoush, stuffed grape leaves and the giardiniera.
The tomatoes are among the most unripe in town.
Still, a great source for Middle Eastern food in Tampa, and an
excellent value, especially if you like lamb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the food here is really good most of the time. We usually have the falafel plate and humous with different side dishes each time. I ordered fries last time and they were soaked in oil very disgusting! But mainly good food. Why I have slowed down going here is because the service is awful!! The girls that work here are so slow and just chat with each other the entire time and sit in the far back booth, if we ask for anything additional we have to remind them 5 times and they give attitude. The restaurant is never busy when we go in but it takes about 90min in all for the entire service. I have always disliked all the waitresses they have all been terrible & rude. Unfortunately we always went here cos I thought they had the best Arabic food but luckily we recently found kurdis in downtown tampa which is better & the service is awesome - so goodbye petra :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S1982p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Placed an order for pick up...one falafel plate, one chicken kebab and one fattoush salad..everything was absolutely delicious and so fresh! The falafel was the best I've had in Tampa, the chicken was so juicy and the salad was extremely fresh. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for authentic middle eastern food! The food was so good that I've ordered from there 3 times in the past week!! Yum!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Nikki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing