We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Straz Center for the Performing Arts

Straz Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #25 of 186 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Straz Center began as a dream by visionary citizens of Tampa who persevered to bring to reality one of the finest performing arts centers in the nation. It is many things to many people and it’s more than just a building, more than just a performing arts center. It is a presenter, a producer, an educator, a community partner and an economic engine for the Tampa Bay area. It is a cornerstone of the Tampa Bay community. The Straz Center creates a regional economic impact of more than $100 million each year. To our local economy it can mean more tourists staying in hotels, eating in restaurants, shopping in stores and visiting other venues when they are here. At both the local and national level, it provides access to more than 700,000 people of all ages, abilities and cultures each year. It also provides jobs for artists and other professionals who have a passion for the arts and for our mission.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Perfect theater. Great sound. Small enough any seat would be great, although we were close to the cront.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarinB445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    102
    13
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went to see "WICKED"...Veeeerrrry long show!!! But very nice. Prices are moderately priced to see shows & for any drinks you may purchase there. Theatre's are clean & even if you sit in the "nosebleed" seciton, you can still see the stage.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dione P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are very lucky to have this in our city with so many wonderful things to attend. From music to comedy to casual venues this is a great spot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BAILEY3106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Concert with Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Straz is a beautiful theater. We have been here many times for Broadway shows, and concerts. There really isn't anything I dislike about it.

This particular evening was a concert show with friends. It was very good!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An entertainment pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Saw Les Mis and more than a few operas here. Have been close up, far away and on the side tiers. Recommend the front rows, of course, as it is a large venue. Have eaten at the buffet in the lobby and the food was surprisingly good. Easy parking across the street and easy exit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EllenK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straz Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Straz Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing