We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth finding”
Review of Gio's Italian

Gio's Italian
Ranked #379 of 2,383 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well worth finding”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have lived less than five minutes from here for years and never tried it. It wasn't until the put out a groupon that we gave it a shot, and we are glad we did. The food was excellent and the service was also great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kayachik14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Its in a strip mall with a lot of mid-line stores and offices. Tucked in a corner you might not find it if you didn't know it was there.. But once you know, you will keep coming back.
The food is top of the line and the service is excellent. I had the eggplant parmegiano and my wife enjoyed chicken piccatta. Shw wasn't sure what she wanted was called and the waiter was kind enough to walk her through possibilities to success. For the wine, we took the suggested Sangiovese blend and it was very good.
We ate early and the place was not full but anything after 6 will need a reservation.
They participate in Groupon and that is very good !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If everything had the marinara on it, it would be great!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The marinara sauce is among the better in Tampa and the side of pasta cooked perfectly. However the balsamic sauce on a chicken entree, was syrupy and tasted bottled. The lasagna was not to my taste. The pink sauce did not complement it at all. Why not use the exceptional marina? Bread was ok. Warehouse shopping mass produced. Fortunately, the end note was cannolis, which were wonderful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatoutmorethanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I tried this restaurant for the first time a couple of years ago and keep going back and bringing friends and family. The food is amazing! Truly Italian, the service is out of this world. They servers are very attentive, corteous and friendly. You never have to wait for a table, even on mother's day I was able to make a reservation for a party of 8 an hour before we got to the restaurant. The prices are not cheap, they are average compare to Carrabba's or Maggiano's but you get quality fresh food. Highly recommend the Linguini di mare :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent and Tasty!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

In Tampa for only one day and I caught the reviews on Tripadvisor. I'm always on the lookout for these largely unnoticed gems sitting in offbeat places like strip malls.

We lucked out! The place is off the beaten path but was not very far from our hotel. I got a Caesar salad and it was crisp and fresh. My wife got bruschetta and it was great. She ordered a lasagna and loved it; a northern Italian meat dish that I confirmed iwas excellent. We had a nice bottle of Italian wine too. I had a special; red snapper with lump crab and lemon sauce...incredible! For dessert, we both got the limoncello sorbet. Perfect ending to a perfect meal!

We had a nice conversation with one of the owners, Javier. He told us the restaurant had been there for twelve years. He explained that they were just under way with Internet advertising and exposure and I realized why there were so few reviews for such a good restaurant.

Not sure if we'll ever be back in Tampa but if we are, we'll be back here for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captbanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gio's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing