We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Masters Inn on MLK Blvd” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds
Ranked #119 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
A TripAdvisor Member
“Masters Inn on MLK Blvd”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2006

These rooms are the worst I've ever seen. Check in times averages about 40 minutes. Non smoking rooms are first come first serve basis doesn't matter if You've booked in advance or not.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    7
    8
    22
See reviews for
9
9
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2005

I stayed here out of not wanting to sleep in a car and not wanting to spend more than $40 for a few hours of sleep and had a pleasent experience. Also, they were just starting to change the carpets in all the rooms and it looks like they were giving them a fresh coat of paint.

Room I had was a bit dirty, but not nasty, no bugs but a little spider (they have to eat something, so I'm sure there are bugs).

Very pleasent counter staff.

I have stayed here before and there was a leak in the room, carpet was so dirty that my feet were black.... the fact they are starting to fix things up is a good sign; if they don't raise the price.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2005

I stayed at Masters Inn tampa (Fair Grounds) in Feb.
where I have Stayed many times before, this time the room
was filled with roaches this will most likely be the last time I will
stay at this location.
I believe this should be corrected.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2005

How about this? Tonight at the Master's Inn our room was broken into and almost EVERYTHING was stolen. The Front Desk was of no help, and when the hotel manager was finally contacted via telephone, she explained that she couldn't do anything until Monday (this happened on Friday night at 8pm) because she was staying at home over the weekend to do laundry. Of course, we've filed a report with the police who came to investigate, but based on the condition of this hotel, we doubt that they could reimburse us for even a toothbrush! NEVER stay here! WE're not at the Holiday Inn Express which was built just a month ago and it's amazing!

Helpful?
6 Thank sivartyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2004

This motel is in terrible condition. Can you relate to never upgraded? Do not stay here. The doors could not be secured.

Helpful?
6 Thank colross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2004

This is by far the worse hotel/motel I have ever stayed in. When we checked in to the hotel at 11:00 pm you had to talk to the hotel clerk thru bullet proof glass. Not kidding either. This hotel is across the street from a shopping mall with all the stores closed. Next door is a Wendy's. On the back of the hotel property is the on ramp for I-4 and a place where truck trailers are parked.
The maid knocked on our door at 8 in the morning. When we told them to come back later they didn't show up for 3 days. We only stayed here because a family member from the United Kingdom was given this hotel thru a packaged deal. So we had no choice in choosing a better place to stay.
The ceiling had loose wires hangind down from where somebody must have taken the smoke detector. Our air conditioner started to smoke and we turned it off because we thought it might catch fire. The hotel clerk had trouble giving us directions to various places in Tampa. Maybe it was the Krispy Kreme donut she was eating that made her thought process go into hibernation.
I also helped a guy jump start his car in the dirty parking lot which resembled a place where cars get ready for a demolition derby. Outside our room the ice machine made all kinds of weird noises. Some times the sound went away only to be replaced by the sounds of the washing machines which were adjacent to the ice machine. Our deadbolt lock didn't work so we put a chair against the door when we went to bed at night.
They also have a security guard at night who walks around checking license plates. He told us they are trying to clamp down on people who park there at night and sleep in their cars.
Norman Bates would love this place!!!!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank lottoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
10.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds

Property: Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds
Address: 6626 E. Dr Martin Luther King Blvd, Tampa, FL 33619
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds 1.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds Hotel Tampa
Masters Hotel Tampa Fairgrounds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing