We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment is measured by one's expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino
Ranked #97 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night on our way down to Marco Island. Hotels were limited due to a concert in town, and the La Quinta had a room available. We paid a total of 94.00 for the night, but I later found a coupon in a Florida coupon book for $59 and on Expedia for 79. A fair price would be between $60-70. Let me explain:
Pros: new flat screen TV with movie channels, friendly personnel at front desk, location is near concerts and casino, sinks and mirror are separate from shower/toilet allowing one to put on makeup and fix hair while others shower. Bed is nice and comfortable if you like a harder mattress with soft pillow top. The room has a small refrigerator and microwave; a LIMITED continental breakfast is included in price. It was also quiet. We never used the pool, but did see it , for it is in a fenced area IN FRONT of the hotel. The parking area separates the hotel from the pool, so it is not private and very "public", almost feeling detached from the hotel. However, it did appear to be clean and well maintained.
CONS: Although we were in a nonsmoking room, our room (321) smelled like old wet cigarettes mixed with a musky smell. We actually bought some Fabreeze and sprayed it just to get by for the night. The carpet was wrinkled in one area and appeared stained. I literally hated the thought of walking on it barefooted. The furniture was old and chipped on the edges. No corner chair as the hote'l's pictures show . Just a large empty corner. The room appeared clean. I didn't find mold or dirty towels as others have stated; however, when I went to plug in my phone charger behind the dresser, I found an XL black jersey that had obviously fallen back there from the previous occupants and not discovered by housekeeping . Bathroom is VERY small and outdated . Plastic-like shower curtain and very little water pressure. You had to hold the toilet handle down for 10-12 seconds for it to flush all the way. The bathroom door was cracked and cut unevenly at the bottom.
In summary, this hotel might be OK for construction crews needing a place to rest when working out of town or a group of college kids on a limited budget coming to a concert for the night. I suggest booking on an online site than booking directly with La Quinta. Again, LaQuinta was higher, even though I specifically asked for their best available rate. As I stated in my opening description, you won't be disappointed if you know exactly what you're paying for . I have pictures to support my viewpoint and rating., but will need to upload them. Whether it's pricey or not is relative to one's expectations at a price. I felt that $94 was too high for a room with the attributes stated above, but others may feel it's fair for a 2 star hotel. You be the judge before you decide to book.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Allen531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 366 reviews

A La Quinta traveler
Needham, Massachusetts
1
Reviewed June 13, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Albany, Georgia
1
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel was great. Had to stay for a graduation located on the fairgrounds. Hotel was walking distance. Overall everything was good. Breakfast could have been better not much to chose from but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

As good as it’s rated and better than it has to be! We were in Tampa for a Bruce Springsteen concert at the Fairgrounds and the location was as good as you could get. Good waffle breakfast, tho’ seating area is on the tight side,when it's busy, but still acceptable. Clean, well appointed room with comfortable bed and desk. Super friendly help in all aspects. Breakfast room under constant supervision during the busy time. No complaints and if you need to be that area, a definite do over. It's not the Four Seasons, nor the Four Seasons price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobra427sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Grounds and staff were fine. Room was not clean. Seemed below average for a La Quinta. There are a few in the area that cost more and are likely better. There are a few close restaurants but the location feels almost rural. If you are going to the fairgrounds (I wasn't), this is an excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Courte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Price is too high for the quality of this hotel. If it is a 1 night stay, it is ok. If a lengthy stay, would recommend another hotel. Brightside Breakfast very Good. Good varity, has food a diabetic can eat. Not limited to pasteries and juice. Staff nice and friendly. Definitely Needs new carpet in halls. or a thorough professional cleaning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Edna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was in La Quinta Inn Hotel for two nights. It was a good experience, room was clean. Just a little bit cold because of air conditioner but it wasn't a big deal. Staff was friendly and ready to help if you needed them for any information or service. It is not a luxury hotel but you can be comfortable if you stay there.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds/Casino
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tampa East - Brandon
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino

Address: 4811 N US Highway 301, Tampa, FL 33610-7300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $69 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.Located across the street from Mid Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre and Expo Park (home of the Florida State Fair), the La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino is the place to stay for fun in the sun. Our convenient location is perfect when visiting such area attractions as Busch Gardens, the Flo...see morerida Aquarium, Lowry Park Zoo, and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). We are only one mile from Hard Rock Seminole Casino and Walt Disney World is just over an hour. Enjoy many great area restaurants, and shopping at nearby Westfield Mall. Attending events at Raymond James Stadium and St. Pete Forum? Book your room here! For spacious, comfortable interior corridor rooms, stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino, where amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, iron /board, free local calls, and more. We have a guest laundry facility plus fax/copy services available at the front desk. Enjoy a tasty Free Bright Side BreakfastTM along with a USA Today in the lobby each morning. The hotel also offers a sparkling outdoor pool for your enjoyment. Businesses such as Roadmaster, and the University of South Florida and Tampa College are only 10 miles. We are eight miles north of downtown with easy access to I-4. Express checkout available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds Hotel Tampa
Tampa La Quinta
La Quinta Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing