We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bad and Dangerous Experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, United States
1 review
“Bad and Dangerous Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Broken shower that burned our child. Maintenance confirmed they knew and allowed guest to stay in the room. AC did not work and pool was a mess with handing pool light and exposed wires. The food was OK but we have had much better at other Hampton Inn stay. We will always stay at Hampton Inn but may never return to this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    120
    57
    30
    16
See reviews for
142
98
28
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
457 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

While the lobby has been remodeled, the rest of the hotel is pretty much an average older Hampton Inn. My room was clean and the front desk lead was helpful and apologetic for the wait to check in. Decent sized fitness center and they do have a pool for the kids. OK location and a pretty quick drive to the airport. I would stay here again if I had business in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Fl, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Everyone at this facility was very professional...We enjoyed the two nights spent here. Chris, the acting manager and his staff were excellent. On our way down to Florida we had encountered a couple of problems with Hampton Inns between Macon and Valdosta, GA. This stay definitely redeemed Hampton from our previous bad on the road experience...IBA and SSN

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ignacio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is definitely an older hampton property, the bathrooms were pretty outdated but everything was functional. When I arrived the front desk clerk was pretty ambivalent to me, didn't have the friendliest of attitudes but my check-in was quick. The bed was comfortable as expected and the carpet in the room seemed newer, but I would say that other areas of the room are probably in need of an update. It would be nice if they had a mini-fridge and/or microwave too. I specifically asked for a first floor room close to an exit, which they did accommodate. However, if you are looking for a quiet room do not stay near the elevator. I was not bothered by the noise, but you can definitely hear a lot of airplane noise and elevator noise. Not the worst stay I've had, but probably wouldn't go out of my way to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlagroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

5:00 on a Tuesday night when most poeople are checking in afer a long day. The front desk clerk was no where to be found. Even after yelling "hello, is anyone here" for about 3 minutes the clerk appeared from somewhere other than behind the front desk humming away like she was just hanging out on a Sunday afternoon. Bathroom fixtures horrible. Bathtub dripped so loud I had to shut the bathroom door to get any sleep. No fridge in room. Come on Hampton Inn, this is Florida. Ice melts in minutes. Upon check out it took another Clerk over 5 minutes to get me 5 singles when I wanted some change. No sense of urgency at this hotel. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Breyonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and cool, although the hallways were rather warm. The free breakfast was great and the breakfast person went out of her way to assist me. I highly recommend staying at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Quick, efficient and friendly staff made my business travel run smoothly. I was even offered a cold bottle of water each morning as I left into 100 degree weather. I left with a "have a good day" and arrived with a "welcome" each day. Very friendly staff that understood the importance of service to a business traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)
Address: 5628 West Waters Avenue, Tampa, FL 33634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tampa
#19 Business Hotel in Tampa
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expressway/Waters Avenue Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing