We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent hotel with great customer service!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great customer service!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Staff at the concierge lounge was especially helpful and friendly (special kudos to Carl Fuller Jr.). Hotel location is convenient to Channelside, Ybor city and downtown. Waterside Grill and Champion's restaurants are excellent.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    739
    257
    90
    60
See reviews for
368
445
84
1,191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

I love Marriott hotels and this one is great. It is a 'business' hotel, being close to the convention centre which means they are usually quiet at the weekend as most of the delegates have left. Made an error this time as it was Labor Day weekend so the place was packed. That said service was great and we even got beds by the pool. The hotel is also adjacent to a trolley bus service to Ybor City which is not to be missed. Will remember this trip for a long time.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jipsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

Was over in Tampa for a big event right next door at Tampa Bay Times Forum and this hotel simply cannot be beat for location for this.

Views are terrific whether overlooking the water, or (as in my case) overlooking the city views.

Hotel room was clean and luxurious, and the food in the sports bar was excellent too.

Would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
270 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

Very cordial and helpful Marriott staff.
The evening valet personnel - not Marriott staff- were rude and not customer oriented.
Water view rooms are nice as well as city views - especially with a balcony.
Not sure what the smoking policy is - but guests do smoke on the balcony and can be annoying if you are not a smoker.
Rooms are nice size and showing their age.
Breakfast buffet was nice with many choices - did not have lunch or dinner in hotel.
Convenient to trolley for viewing Tampa and nearby Ybor City.

Room Tip: city room with balcony or water view close to the convention center side (nicer views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank traveler1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent posting and for your kind words about the Marriott Team. I would like to apologize for what you experienced with the valet team and reassure you that I have shared this feedback with them. Thank you and we hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great hotel and location. One of my favorite things was visiting the concierge level at the Marriott. I met a really friendly and hard working lady named Joyce Williams. She treated our group so well. Joyce always had a smile on her face and was so happy to work at the hotel. Please treat her kindly and say hello!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyAW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

If you are in downtown on business and are only in town for one night, this might be an ok hotel. It is right across the street from the arena and convention center. However, there are limited dining options in the hotel (sports bar and pricey waterside café). There is a Starbucks in the lobby, as well as a lobby bar that overlooks the marina. There really aren't that many restaurants within walking distance but there is a trolley that will take you to Ybor City but it stops running around 10 PM so you may end up taking a cab home if you have a late night. There aren't many options for reasonable eating for families. The rooftop pool does not seem kid friendly and the beaches are a long drive. In our opinion this is not a good choice for families. The lobby is a gorgeous design however it is not well maintained. We noticed that dirty glasses were left for hours. When we checked in there were at least ten dirty plastic cups and wine glasses on various tabletops and managers and servers walked by without attending to them or directing someone to clean them up. We tried to call down to have our car brought around but the line was not working. When we gave them our ticket they brought the wrong car to us. When we told them it was the wrong car they couldn't find our keys so we had to search through all the keys to find our set. No apology, no concern for our inconvenience. The hotel was not even half full, I cannot imagine how bad the service would be when they are busy.

Room Tip: ask to face the channel.
See more room tips
Green Features: this a green hotel, they do a good job. However, we were disappointed that they did not put any copies of the restaurant menus in the rooms for the guests to make dining decisions.
Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jupiterbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Waterside. The issues you outlined are certainly well below our expectations, and your feedback provided will certainly assist in our efforts to take immediate action. I regret any lost time or inconvenience and extend an apology on behalf of our team. Please feel free to contact me directly should your travels bring you back to the Waterside, bill.heitzig@marriott.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stayed at the Marriott Waterside for business last week and was very pleasantly surprised. I typically stay at the Westshore location and did not realize I booked the wrong hotel until I arrived. What a pleasant mistake. Everything about this property is a step up from the Waterside hotel, the location, hotel, rooms, concierge lounge, were all a notch higher from the other place. The only downside is you are forced to pay $25/day for valet parking when there was onsite parking for free at the other location. All in all, this hotel is most certainly in the Tampa rotation going forward. One of the better US Marriott's that I've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkanipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing