We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just okay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We just checked out today after taking our kids to the Tampa Bay Comic Con this weekend. We paid to stay in one of the water view rooms on the 20th floor. The view was beautiful. The guys down at the valet were wonderful and the bellhop even noticed our room refrigerator wasn't working and had a new one delivered. The exceptional customer service stopped there.

The room was a bit dated, and because these rooms are at a higher rate, we were very surprised at how uncomfortable the beds were. There were mattress pads on the bed that made the sheets had to fit/stay, so while I tried to fix the sheets before bed Friday night, the exposed mattress was visibly old. The pillows were so thin, you almost needed to stack 3 of them for a normal sized pillow.

We went to Champion's restaurant for a late dinner Friday night and had the most unhappy waiter. He looked like he wanted to be ANYWHERE, but there. We just chalked it up to him having a bad night. Our 2nd night at Champion's was even worse. The restaurant seemed understaffed even though there was a big convention going on next door. The waiter was just horrible. And he wasn't very concerned that he was failing tremendously. He didn't even finish taking our order before he left the table to take another tables order. When half of our food was brought out, he asked if we needed something else......"yeah, how about taking the rest of our orders." The restaurant seemed so understaffed that after we first discovered he didn't get all our orders, we were unable to find him to let him know and no one came back to our table before the food that was ordered got there. The lack of customer service continued into the next morning with the lady at your Starbucks counter this morning. It was all about staff members who didn't really act like they liked their jobs and wanted to be somewhere else.

The best part of this hotel is definitely the view and close proximity to the convention center. We would definitely try the Embassy Suites next time.

Room Tip: High floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize for what you experienced and reassure that we will address your concerns. Thank you for the opportunity to improve on the service that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    701
    243
    84
    54
See reviews for
347
417
83
1,109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just stayed one night for the Tampa Bay Comic Con - wish we had stayed longer. Can't beat the location - right on the Channel and so convenient to the Convention Center and an easy walk to anywhere else downtown so lots of dining opportunities. Several elevators means you don't wait long for one to arrive.The room was clean and very comfortable but best of all there weren't any weird pipe-in-the-wall noises or loud A/C - it was surprisingly quiet. Our 11th floor room had a beautiful view overlooking Seddon Channel toward Harbor Island. The staff we encountered were very professional. We didn't dine in the hotel but we got drinks at the lobby bar & sat in the channel-side patio in the early evening - so nice! I highly recommend this property & plan to stay here again even though we only live 30 minutes away!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ichiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just spend a couple of days at the Tampa Marriott Waterside. I had a room on the 25th floor with a spectacular view of the harbor and river.

All of the staff that I encountered were quite professional and several remembered my name after just one encounter. Perhaps staff is receiving training from the Marriott owned Ritz, the professionalism was that good.

Toiletries are provided by Thann, a Thai company. They're really a pleasure to use and different from the ordinary toiletries we encounter in most chain hotels.

Nice place ! ! !

Room Tip: Ask for a water view on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbsinfll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was a great hotel that we stayed at in the South Tampa area (very convenient location). The hotel was beautiful when we walked in and were greeted wonderfully. The front desk clerk was super friendly, and was able to give us a room on the concierge floor with a great view. Since we were just staying there for the night (relocating to the area), he even gave us a credit to have a drink at the bar- warm welcome! The breakfast and dessert in the concierge room were delicious and Carl Fuller was a great steward. My family will definitely be staying in the hotel when they come visit! Very clean as well and I am picky!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHS510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Jack at the poolside bar was extremely eficient. He managed large crowds, remembered orders, room numbers, and was friendly to talk with. All of the other staff that we encountered were tremendously helpful as well.
I would agree with other reviews that the wifi should be free for hotel guests though!
The hotel was in walking distance to many attractions and across the street from one of the main street car stations.
Thanks for making our vacation experience a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had a great stay here. Very nice spread for breakfast and hor's derves included in the rate on the concierge floor. Carl Fuller, the breakfast steward in the concierge lounge, even comped my breakfast in the restaurant downstairs after I arrived a few minutes late to breakfast and the food had been removed. Great service!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliekat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to restraunts, bars and a cool running trail on Bayshore. The staff make you feel welcome, and the bars in the hotel are top-notch. The Concierge Lounge was great! Carl Fuller takes good care of his guests. Thanks Carl!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#12 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing