We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
“Concierge Lounge”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Carl Fuller, Jr. was a great host! He was proactive in working with the many visitors and had a nice comment for everyone.The lounge itself was quite nice with a great view of the city. The food at breakfast was Marriott standard, that is to say very good with a wide variety of choices. We are big fans of the chain and have been very happy with the Marriotts and JW Marriotts we've stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    823
    295
    109
    74
See reviews for
432
522
87
1,328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our vacation in Tampa. Great location and great comfort. Staff was professional, helpful and friendly. The lobby, restaurant and bar where very spacious. The valet was fast and easy. A 10 minute prior phone call and the car was always ready. Our room was on the 26 floor w/water views and where you could see for miles and miles. The gentleman in the breakfast lounge was friendly and always replenished the food and kept the lounge neat and clean. We would certainly return to this hotel when in Tampa.

Room Tip: This was our first visit to this hotel but the high floor, river view we had was fantastic! Not one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobA849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is situated near the Port of Tampa (Carnival Cruise Line sails out of here) and Tampa General Hospital. It is also steps away from the convention center. A group of 3 of us stayed here during Gasparilla Race weekend with attendance at all the races at 30,000; with that said this hotel never seemed crowded. It had its good points and bad. It has a beautiful lobby/bar area and a fantastic patio facing the water with comfortable high top tables and patio seating with big screen TV's, and great fireplaces. We had great weather and could have sat on the patio all night long. Two restaurants. We only ate at Champions with your usual bar food/beverages and average prices.

This hotel has a rooftop pool area that is just fantastic! Great pool, view, hot tub, bar area and a pool attendant that would set up your chairs and get you your towels; great service. The poolside loungers are in need of replacement as they are looking pretty worn.

The rooms were nicely decorated but you only had a choice of 1 king or 2 doubles; double beds are a bit small if you are sharing the bed with another adult in my opinion. We were offered to upgrade to a water view room for an additional 25.00 per night and we took it; ended up on the 25th floor with a beautiful view.

We were within walking distance to Channelside (although this area has gone down hill and doesn't offer nearly the number of restaurants as it used to), and a trolley that you can get on for 5.00 per day.

My only complaints about this hotel: We asked for a wake up call and never got it. Our room was made up but the comforter to one of the beds was left in the corner in a crumpled up pile and the parking fee is way too high. We were already paying upwards of 200.00 per night for this hotel, the 25.00 per day (plus tax) to valet park is ridiculous; we will definitely find another place to park next visit. If you want internet access you have to pay 9.99 per day.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a water view room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snshn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was our second trip to the Tampa Mariott Waterside--a business-related trip for my husband. The best thing about this hotel is the spacious, comfortable common areas which includes an outdoor bar/dining area that is right on the waterway. There is also a great rooftop pool with plenty of poolside space for enjoying the sun. The rooms are typical convention hotel rooms that are adequate on space, clean but definitely not glamorous or memorable. But the views from the water-view rooms are amazing and every day we could watch the boat traffic including large cruise ships coming in and out. Service was a definite plus and I would like to mention one person who made this more than a "convention hotel" and that was Joyce in the concierge lounge. She definitely made evening cocktails and appetizers special with her smile and gracious service. Can't beat the location for proximity to the convention center and being able to enjoy the Tampa River Walk, which is right at the Mariott's doorstep, is a definite advantage.

Room Tip: Request water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimley, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My group had a conference here and I brought my wife for a winter get away. The property is situated by sports areas and the conference center on the water. Very clean and professional, friendly staff. Used valet parking for my rental car and they did a great job. Fast and courteous valets. Check in was great, again friendly and helpful staff. We were on the 15th floor. The room was spacious and very clean. The only complaint would be the mattress had a plash pad top separate from the mattress that moved around and was a little irritating. That is minor though. My wife used the spa and enjoyed the pedicure and massage. It was great because it gave her something to do while I was in meetings. She enjoyed the pool area and waterfront bar area with outdoor seating. It was very comfortable and semi-private for relaxing. The facility had good meeting rooms and layout for the conference. The sports bar and restaurant were good. We ate off property mainly though. Overall it was a very clean facility with friendly helpful staff. I would recommend for a getaway or business meeting spot.

Room Tip: The Riverwalk area is easy to navigate and there is a lot around the area. Get out and explore. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubadivingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in November. It's a popular conference location, so more business, but this hotels decor was more tasteful than some more chic competitors in the area.

The staff were warm, friendly and very efficient.

What wasn't so great: the rooms had a lot of noise, due to thin walls.

One of my mattresses was significantly more uncomfortable than the other. One was great, the other, mildly painful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fischeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky, United States
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife, One year old daughter, and I went to Tampa on a business trip (NCTC WEC 2014) this past week. My conference was located at the Marriott Waterside hotel, and it was quite enjoyable. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly during our stay. The conference rooms were nice and large, as well was the lobby.

The hotel was located on a "riverwalk", which provided a nice stroll at night. While the Valet parking did cost $24 a night, it was nice to be able to drop off our vehicle and not have to worry about the hassle of parking across the street.

As far as the 5th star, I refuse to rate anything perfect unless I'm absolutely positive it deserves it. What kept this hotel from being a five star hotel was the fact that Marriott hotels do not provide free internet in the hotel rooms. I guess I'm spoiled working for an ISP (hence the conference), however in this day and age I would think Internet access is a must throughout the hotel, not just the lobby.

The restaurants attached to the hotel were excellent, and I'll post seperate reviews on them later.

Overall, we had a great trip, and a great experinece at the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the Tampa Bay Times Forum side which provided a great view of the arena and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 163 in Tampa
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing