We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 15, 2014

had a lovely balcony room on the 5th floor with view of the river and boats and city buildings. Lobby very pretty and beds are cozy. Air conditioning did not work well so sleep was hard. they fixed it right away but the cooling temperture seemed inaccurate. Breakfast was good but expensive. Other meals looked good but also expensive. Trolly runs by the front dooe and the convention center is across the street.

Room Tip: stay on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,005 - 2,011 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at this property again in Jan. 2014 for the annual music conference at the convention center. My room wasn't quite as nice as it was a year ago, when I was able to secure a room with a balcony, but still a good, basic, clean room that met my expectations for what a Marriott property should be like.

The highest point of this property is the location (right across the street from the convention center, right on the water); the view from my room was A+ again. (I'll post a photo.) The facilities at the hotel are also very nice, with a rooftop pool and hot tub and some fun spaces to hang out for eating/drinking right on the water.

Hazel in the concierge lounge deserves my sincere thanks for helping me with my late-night dessert needs in spite of me coming in just a few minutes before the lounge closed. She had great, can-do, customer-focused attitude and never once pointed out how close my arrival was to closing time. Thanks, Hazel! You rock!

I plan to stay there again for the conference next year, as this is the best place to stay in the convention center area, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GamecockGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The minute you walk in the lobby, you love the ambiance.
Beautiful decorations during x-mas week.
nice waterside bar and river walk with boats and excellent view. very serene!!
You pay a premium compared to other locations, but well worth the price.
The Valet parking is well worth it and the attendants are very efficient and courteous.

Room Tip: my choice is always high floor and away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realtor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I did not stay at the hotel, my daughter participated at an event there but just being in the hotel for a couple of hours was awesome! The staff was super friendly, hotel just beautiful and the views were to die for!

Room Tip: Parking is hard to find, there is a parking lot on Franklin and Bourdain that you pay $2.50 all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alessandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stay at this hotel periodically and it is always wonderful. It's a huge place with all the facilities you could want. The beautifully appointed and well maintained facility is staffed by the nicest people. Great views of the water from one side of the hotel; very nice restaurants and lots of other things within easy walking or driving distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your recent posting and for your kind words. We appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel and look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were there just after Christmas.

Didn't like: The place was crowded with people coming in for the Outback Bowl. Lobby service from the bar was horrible, seemed like a lot of staff just walking around but no one actually checking on the tables, and not working very efficiently. The executive lounge was closed until Sunday night then it was overcrowded. Breakfast Monday 12/30 in the lounge had one staffer on who had a bit of an attitude with guests and the place wasn't stocked at all. I also found a yogurt that was out of date. Not the kind of experience we have come to expect as frequent Marriott customers.

Did like: Nice hotel, great location - walk across the street to the Times Forum. We saw back to back hockey games and the hotel is perfect for it. Trolley station out front is great, we walked to Ybor City and rode the trolley back. More cities need this! We had a good meal at Champions (loved the Lightning rink setup by the entrance) and a great meal at the Waterside Grill. Yolanda R. was our waitress - very attentive, fun and she handled our requests like a champ. The bloody mary's were excellent and the bacon Yolanda brought us made them perfect. I actually enjoyed the Cuban sandwich at the Waterside more than any other I have had in Florida. Your mileage may vary.

Biggest bonus, the Canadiens were staying at the hotel and our girls met and took photos with half the team and the coaches.

All in all it was a good, safe place to stay with our daughters. Good food choices. Executive floor experience was pretty lacking compared to say Montreal but they were also overflowing with football people. We are definitely coming back for more hockey games and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Waterside rooms had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txcavgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. I was sorry to learn that we fell short of your expectations at the Lobby Bar and Concierge Lounge. Please know that I have personally shared this feedback with the relevant individuals. Additionally, I want to thank you for your positive remarks regarding the hotel as well thank you for recognizing Yolanda. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were staying in Tampa for the Outback Bowl, and I had a horrible kink in my neck. Susan in the spa did a fantastic job on a deep tissue massage. Not only did she help relieve my discomfort, but she also gave me information on things I could do to help alleviate the problem in the future.
Tanya in housekeeping also did a great job in making up our room. She worked around our schedule and was very efficient. She also left us notes daily -- that was a personal touch I had never received before!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your recent posting and for personally recognizing Tonya and Susan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $177 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing