We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott for a birthday weekend with 3 others. Loved the location. It was central to so many things to do. First off we took a long walk along the water each morning. Stopped at the local grocery - Publix - on the way back for fruit and yogurt. Then settled into the table and chairs outside facing the marina. Just lovely during the day and I'm sure nice at night too. There is a trolley right outside the front of the hotel that takes you to Ybor City - much easier than driving. Also walking distance to a fun aquarium, crazy bowling and we had reservations for a dinner cruise (also walkable) that was cancelled at the last minute. Rooms were clean and just fine; hotel staff on their toes. We would definitely head back there if we find ourselves in Tampa again. Also walkable to cruise ships in case you need a place to stay before or after a cruise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKE817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    823
    295
    109
    74
See reviews for
432
522
87
1,328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel is a first class hotel with a prefect location. It is on the harbor with it's own marina and from my 26th floor room I could watch the freightors and cruise ships dock and embark. The rooms are comfortable and large. The convention center is arounf the corner and trolley can take you to many sights includijg Y'Bor City. Parking is by valet. There are 3 restaurants in the hotel, byt many with a short walk or drive. Free wireless in the lobby, charge in the room. All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugalarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel gives you great Florida ambiance in the midst of downtown. The lobby is really beautiful with very tall palm trees throughout. They are not real, but look real. The back of the lobby has glass windows that look out over the patio and give the whole area a nice open feel. The lobby bar is open and great for socializing. There are lots of seats and cubby areas in the lobby for working or visiting. A Starbucks beside the lobby as well. Conveniently located across from the Convention Center and Tampa Bay Forum, this hotel is a great business and liesure hotel within walking distance of both. The rates are a bit high in the winter/spring months but you can get a decent rate in the summer months. I would have rated this hotel as excellent but the spa and one of the restaurants was closed "due to low occupancy". It was a Monday evening. Normally they have a daily spa special advertised in the room where you can get a 25 min massage along with a facial or foot/neck massage for $100.00.
I worked out in the gym which overlooked the pool area. The pool is located on one of the higher floors and is very large. Large enough to swim laps if you desired. It was completely empty in the late afternoon. Plenty of lounge chairs too. The rooms are very nice, as with most higher end Marriotts.
If you have the opportunity to stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very clean with a staff that was accessible, friendly, and eager to please.
Located across the street from the convention center and a trolley that takes you to the Channel side District. The hotel is minutes from anywhere in Tampa.
The views are exceptional especially from the higher floors. The rooms with a balcony are a nice addition. The higher floors are best.
The pool is on the third floor and has plenty of chairs and a pool bar. Poolside food delivery is available too. Pool towels are located next to work out room that is well equipped.
Valet is your only parking option and can get slow during the rush hours. Many restaurants are located close by so walking is a option. The trolley is across the street and will take you to the Channelside District.
The beds are some of the most comfortable we have experienced.
We were very pleased with the room and hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review about our hotel. We are always pleased to see comments about staff service. Should your travels bring you to Tampa in the future please know that there is self-parking located within the vicinity of the hotel. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here one night with my 2 daughters to attend a concert. I was surprised at how beautiful it was. The check in process was a breeze. We were lucky and got a balcony room on the 22nd floor with an amazing view and plenty of room. Loved the easy walk to the Tampa Bay Forum. The pool was very nice, unfortunately it closed st 11:00 pm so my girls couldn't cool off after the concert, but my younger one got up at 8:00 am to swim, it is a nice pool plenty of chairs and a great view. The only con for me was no free wifi in my room and the down mattress pad had feather poking me when I got in bed, but I easily corrected it. No issues with valet as I had read on here. I also wished dining at the hotel was a little more affordable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMRN215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I am glad that you and your daughters had a great time. Should you attend another concert in the future please know that we offer complimentary Wifi in our lobby. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Loved the Marriott. Perfect location and beautiful amenities. Only problem is that the parking is valet only and it gets backed up because the loading area is small. There was also a church group that brought uhauls full of items and busses that clogged up the valet area. That would be my only complaint. The pool is amazing and the gym is well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Bill Heitzig at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting on tripadvisor and for your positive comments on our location and amenities. Please know that there is self-parking in the area and that I will personally share your feedback regarding the congestion on the drive with our valet team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while taking the FL Bar Exam. The staff is friendly & attentive, the room was clean & the view was relaxing. The room is standard but the beds were VERY comfortable & there are several different types of pillows on the bed to choose from (soft or hard). My stay here was very comfortable while totally stressed out for the exam. They shouldn't charge so much for parking or in room wifi - other than that, I would recommend it. Breakfast Buffet was OK, nothing to write home about but there is something for everyone ... and the omelette/waffle station is PERFECT!

Room Tip: If staying during a busy time, request a low numbered floor b/c the elevators are SLOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiNena77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. We were pleased to receive your positive comments. Please know that we regularly compare our prices with the rest of the Tampa market. We do this ensure that we are priced properly. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 163 in Tampa
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing