We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect for the Convention Centre with great facilities.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect for the Convention Centre with great facilities.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Large, comfortable hotel with good gym and swimming pool, great sports bar, waterside bar, excellent breakfasts, and a reasonable restaurant. Outside bar area by the water / marina is a great place to relax.

Staff helpful and efficient without being too overbearing (even for a European!) Expensive WiFi but it is free in the lobby.

It is located about 200m from the convention centre. Otherwise pretty soulless part of town with nothing of great interest apart from the aquarium, which is mediocre, and a small local history museum. Quite a trek to anything else, but there is a tram system right outside.

The only drawback if you are on the north side of the hotel is the TERRIBLE wannabe bands playing outside the Times Forum (ice hockey stadium). Loud, and not so talented! And band practice at 0600 on a Saturday morning? Noooooooooo!!

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the water rather than the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StigB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it’s always nice to receive positive remarks from our International Guests. I was sorry to learn about the noise from the bands. Please know that these bands only perform during special events. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    739
    257
    90
    60
See reviews for
367
445
84
1,191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel located downtown. Great sports bar with huge screens. Next door to Tampa Bay Times Forum - location, location, location. Wonderful service - felt like I was at the Ritz! The hotel lobby is beautiful. There is dining on the water. Linens perfect and being able to open the sliding doors on the balconies was great to get fresh air.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JediMom2087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive remarks and for comparing us to a Ritz Carlton. We are very fortunate to have such an amazing property. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business and found it to be pretty nice and up to Marriott standards. The main areas are clean and modern. The restaurants, lobby bar, and pool/workout area are awesome. If the weather's nice, there are many places to sit outside. This is probably the busiest and craziest hotel bar I have been at for a while. Don't know if this is typical, but every night it was packed!

The room was great, beds were comfortable (got 2 doubles even though I requested a King). I got stuck on a lower floor next to the roof ventilation which was loud and obnoxious and negated the benefit of having a balcony, but fortunately it did not run at night. The rooms seemed modern, clean, and updated though. There was a problem with my TV and they sent someone up to fix it right away. I think it's ridiculous that the hotel charges $15 a day for wireless internet, but it is free in the lobby.

Overall, if you have business nearby, this hotel (or the one across the street) is a good bet. Hopefully you don't have a need for wireless internet!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mzqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. I was very sorry to learn that we were not able to honor your requested bed type. I was glad that you were able to enjoy the restaurants and bars in the hotel. Should your travels bring you to Tampa in the future please contact me at bill.heitzig@marriott.com. I will ensure you have a king bed with a spectacular view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed one night and found that the location is what we were looking for. We have stayed there before. They have such great amenities and do have restaurants on site. Our room was nice and clean. The decor looks up to date. The walls are a little thin, we heard the neighbors on each side of us and that was why I only rated it very good. Other than that, it is an upscale hotel, has a great location and if you have a boat, you can dock right there! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flaglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your posting and for commenting on how clean your room was. I would like to apologize that you were able to hear your neighbors next door. If you experience this in the future we would be more than happy to move you to another room. Thank you for recommending our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this beautiful hotel for a few nights for a business convention. All I can say is WOW! It was perfect. Nice, CLEAN rooms (even by my standards), and spacious. I was fortunate enough to have a balcony room, but the view was of the city and not the water :( The veranda was gorgeous. The food was really good at the hotel's sports bar, but the service on the veranda was horrendously slow. All the hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Cute little gift shop with travel basics, tourist gifts, bottled drinks, ice cream, etc. There is a Starbucks there, as well. I didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked really nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyM0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Tampa Marriott Waterside is a nice property right on the water and Tampa's riverwalk. The hotel is bustling with everyone from hockey players to folks waiting for their cruise ship. Overall, I would say our small meeting experience here was good, not average, nor necessarily very good. Our contacts at the hotel were very nice and tried to accomodate our requests as best they could given the number of people in the hotel.

The horrendous AV service was the biggest issue for us. They do not outsource the service, but instead employ one or two overcommitted people inhouse. The hotel recognized their inadequacies in this respect and did some service recovery for us, but our attendees definitely noted the lack of AV support on our evaluations. They didn't even check the mic batteries for us in the morning and two out of three mics died by the second day. Moving guests through the omelet station and buffet was also a challenge, par for the course though with that...always seems to be an issue, right up there with room temperature. There wasn't anything remarkable about the upgraded rooms provided in the contract, except maybe the view that most of the hotel had. Note, the hotel does charge for water, pens, and paper on the tables, referring to it as a green initiative. Personally, I prefer to text my contacts in the hotel, but here they really wanted me to use the house phone. That's great, but if there is something wrong in the meeting room, I have to disruptively leave the room and walk to the phone. In the end, would we take a meeting back here? Maybe. A beach hotel at Clearwater or St. Pete's might be worth the extra cab fare though. After reading over my comments, I don't want to sound overly critical, but like I said it was a good conference experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here on vacation for two nights. The room was clean, the view was lovely, and the staff were all helpful. There happened to be problems with the city's water treatment plant and residents (including hotel) were not allowed to drink tap water. The hotel was extremely accommodating with limitless bottled water, and kind about the whole thing. But the atmosphere was a bit too stuffy, and the 3rd floor rooftop pool was awful. Its made for sun bathers not pool goers. As a mom with kids, I found the decorative trees and platforms in the middle of the pool a real problem in being able to see my kids (they are elementary aged). I realized I could not lay on the sunchair to watch them. I had to be up standing and moving around so that I could see them at all times -- not having them hiddle from view behind the trees and whatnot in the pool. I am really surprised this safety issue has not been brought to the hotel's attention.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JallyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing