We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nicely Run” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nicely Run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I took advantage of my partner's conference taking place at the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina. Clean, good service (except for the valet being hit or miss), good food, great outside eating and bar.

Room Tip: The sunset is fantastic when you get a room on the South side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoW_DavidR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for your kind words about our hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf of the entire hotel for what you experienced with our valet. Please know that I have shared this feedback with them and moving forward we will reevaluate our staffing levels during need times. We appreciate your business and much like yourself enjoy the fantastic sunsets on a regular basis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    739
    257
    90
    60
See reviews for
368
445
84
1,191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
281 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This place has great views and is near the convention center. Rooms are very nice and are clean. Great bar in the lobby and they have a neat sports bar. Will stay here again. Get a room looking out over the water. Great boats.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments about the hotels cleanliness and bars. We appreciate your feedback and are excited to hear that you are planning on staying here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

It is always a pleasure staying at this hotel. Great location with trolley stop across the street. Hockey at the forum is in walking distance. Champions Bar and Grill is a great place to pre-game. The staff is always friendly and courteous. And the setting on the waters awe inspiring. A truly great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaPGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for recent posting on TripAdvisor and for your remarks on how friendly our staff is. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raeford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I decided to take my wife to the Marriott Waterside for a late celebration of our anniversary. I booked the hotel online. The Marriott website is very easy to use and is my first choice if I have the option. Upon arrival I checked in with Tim who has very pleasant and extremely helpful. Our room was on the 24 floor with a huge balcony overlooking the port of Tampa with a180 degree view of the downtown area. I had a full day planned for Saturday in Ybor City so we used the hotel as our base. The hotel is centrally located to most of the top sites in the downtown Tampa area. Directly outside of the hotel is a trolley stop that takes you around the entire city. It will drop you off at the cruise lines or take you all the way to Ybor City, which is the old Latin Quarter of the city. I scheduled a couples massage for my wife and myself and could not have been happier with the results. The Spa is outstanding and well staffed. Our massage therapist were top notch. On Sunday morning I scheduled to have breakfast delivered. The order came exactly on time and we ended up eating breakfast on the balcony overlooking the city. During a couple of our breaks we also had drinks at their in-house bar which has a huge selection. The only downsize is the valet which is run by a separate company. The normal wait to have your car brought around was about 20 minutes. Even when I called down to have it brought around they still seemed to take their time. At one point, after giving my ticket, I realized they had not even taken my keys with them to the car lot. This was seen over and over by other guest as well. I understand this happening during the rush hours, but I used them over multiple time periods, and the result was always the same. Overall the hotel experience exceeded my expectations. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Try to get above the 24th floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeford5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your kinds words regarding Tim and the Spa attendants. I would like to apologize on behalf of the entire hotel for what you experienced with our valet. Please know that I have shared this feedback with them and moving forward we will reevaluate our staffing levels during need times. We appreciate your business and this opportunity to improve on the overall experience we offer our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

A very nice, very large, very component Marriott. A convention hotel with a bit more desire than typical to please and provide excellent service. If you're not stuck in the convention center, you will need a car to go anywhere. However, valet parking was excellent even though the car was parked in the parking garage two blocks away. I had a comer handicap room which was very large and comfortable. in-room safe and a refrigerator. Balcony with table and chairs. Room service was efficient given the size of the hotel; breakfast in the restaurant was very good. Outside restaurants are a drive.

Room Tip: Water view is better than the parking garage view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. We really appreciated your positive remarks. We look forward to one day serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
728 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Attended conference at this hotel. Hotel is very large and in good condition. Waterfront - but there is no beach. The hotel is on a narrow channel with marinas and a long walkway from which you can see dolphins and rays. The hotel is close to downtown Tampa, in a renewed area, but not really walkable to most of downtown.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I also enjoy walking down the Riverwalk and seeing dolphins and rays. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times for conferences. It's a nice hotel and in a good location. I would suggest asking for a room that overlooks the water instead of downtown. As with any business hotel, expect to pay for everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. We were pleased to hear that you have used our hotel on many different occasions. Thank you for your loyalty and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#13 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing