We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My Favorite Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We enjoyed the lobby area and setting of this hotel. We didn't like the dirty toilet seat or the hairs in the shower of our bathroom the day we arrived. We also had a bad experience with the valet service. They were very unorganized each time we dropped off or picked up our car. The keys were just thrown in a basket and on more than one occasion they had trouble finding the keys. On our last day as we were heading back to the airport they actually lost our car. After a long wait they discovered it was in their garage, but they didn't have the keys! We were told the keys must of been inadvertently returned to the Hertz desk in their lobby which was closed. After speaking the manager on duty, we were put in a taxi. We did learn later that the car had been turned in the afternoon before by one of their employees. Very disturbing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hallfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone here at the hotel for what you experienced with overall cleanliness as well as with our valet. Please know that I have personally shared this feedback with our Housekeeping Leadership Team so that it can be addressed. Additionally, I want to assure you that moving forward our Valet Team will focus on being more consistent with staffing levels and the way they handle keys. Should your travels bring you to Tampa in the future please contact me directly so I can ensure your stay is a memorable one. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve on our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,367 - 2,373 of 2,845 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent the day here with my two children after a cruise and before flying out in the evening. Very helpful, flexible staff - good suggestions about sights. Didnt see the rooms but the lobby and pool are beautiful. Cafe good. Will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buctootim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback and for your kind words about our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future and thank you for your business and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Location of the hotel is great, close to downtown Tampa, Ybor City and close to the water. Hotel amenities were great and the onsite dining options are good. We enjoyed Champions sports bar for weekend football games. We enjoyed the lobby bar and the outdoor lounge area. Service at the lobby bar was very good. One dislike: Room service is a bit pricey, two coronas cost $18. As with most resort hotels, expect to pay more. The room was really clean and updated, and the cleaning staff did a good job. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent posting and for your positive comments about our hotel. Please know that we regularly bench mark our room service prices with like hotels in the local area in order to remain competitive. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I visited the Waterside for a conference the last week of October. I had a king suite on the 4th floor. The room was huge with a separate sitting area which could be closed off from the bedroom. One television in the sitting room, the other in the bedroom. Each room opened onto a common balcony that was equipped with two tables and four chairs at each table. The room was clean and serviced daily. I would comment on a view but there wasn't one. The 4th Floor looks at a roof. My guess is you want to be at least on the 6th floor or higher for a view.

The location of this hotel is excellent. Downtown is close by and makes for a good run or a good walk. There is a trolley stop across the street. There is free wifi in the lobby. The food served during the conference was first rate. I am a vegetarian and the chef was extremely versatile with his presentation and meal preparation. I was thoroughly pleased. On Saturday afternoon I enjoyed the open air patio and took in the music and the view of the harbor.

Oh, the $4.00 water. This was a business trip and though I get reimbursed; I have issues paying $4.00 for a bottle of Fiji water. So......I used google map to locate a convenience store close to the hotel. The Market at Harbour Place is 0.6 of a mile from the hotel. It is a safe, fairly well-lit walk across the bridge. The Address is 401 Channelside Walk Way. Hours of operation Sunday to Thursday, 8AM to 9:30PM and Friday and Saturday 8AM to 11PM. There is a bar with live music right next door. They sell water for regular prices, beer, wine and assorted sundries.

So, other than the $4.00 water the place was okay. Conference food was first rate. Kudos to the chef.

Room Tip: 6th Floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidbaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor and for feedback regarding the banquet food. Our culinary team was very pleased to receive this feedback. Should your travels bring you to Tampa in the future please check with our concierge about directions to local grocery stores. The prices are much more reasonable than at the Harbour Island Market and the same walking distance. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve on the services that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very clean room with attentive cleaning staffs. The hotel is waterside with beautiful views and very convinient to the cruise port, restaurants, walking and shopping. Trolley stop right in front of the hotel. Swimming pool to the third floor, medium size with plenty of lounge chairs available. We booked a spa day on Sunday and had a wonderful experience. My spa host was Rhonda and she was very good, I would recommend her.

Cons: WI/FI available in the lobby only, if you desire you must pay for a pass for a large fee of almost 15 bucks per day or more. Parking was terrible, If you want to park your car yourself you must walk about 1 block and it charges you at least 9+ dollars a day or use the hotels valet which is 20+ dollars a day plus tips. The breakfast is very expensive at 18 + dollars per person. There is a Starbucks at the hotel that is available only @ limited hours.

Pro: This is a very beautiful hotel overall with very professional staff with friendly faces at the bar. The view is spactacular at sunset. Close to the convention center and the cruise port. The Florida Aquarium is walking distance away. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the water. The higher the floor the better. We stayed at 2624.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jobster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent posting and for your comments regarding our professional staff and overall cleanliness. Please know that we regularly compare our prices for internet and parking in order to ensure we our properly priced. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve on the services that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned from the Marriott. Service and location was outstanding. Beautiful lobby right on the waterway. Since we are gold card members we made use of the lounge which provided a wonderful breakfast and evening snacks. Had a problem with a toilet which they quickly repaired. Had a beautiful view from our room. Rooms are not large but adequate. The outdoor pool is amazing for a hotel in the city. We ate at the sports bar in the hotel, Champions, to watch a football game and the food was typical bar food, nothing special and overpriced. However the service was excellent. We really enjoyed going to Berns Steakhouse Restaurant (they will give you a tour of the kitchen if you ask, expensive but worth it) and the Colannade (free drink or key lime dessert coupon in lobby of Marriott).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for several days in September while attending a Lions Leadership Forum. We were right across the street from the convention center. The marina is beautiful and the restaurants in the area were excellent. There is a nice river walk and we were close enough to walk to the Florida Aquarium. Service at the hotel was superb. I left a pair of pants behind when we checked out, which I didn't notice until we were back home. I called and housekeeping had turned them in and they mailed them to me right away. Nice location, comfy rooms, and great service!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $177 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown. Our hotel in Tampa, Florida is located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of our lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing