We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our First Time Was a Great Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Our First Time Was a Great Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were fortunate to be booked at the Marriott Waterside in Tampa for a national business convention early this month. Never having traveled to Tampa left us at the mercy of the fine people at the Marriott Waterside, turns out we were in excellent hands! The location of the hotel was perfect for attending events at the Tampa Convention Center and for exploring the harbor area. The hotel did an excellent job of managing the hundreds of people attending our meeting and they provided some of the best customer service we have ever experienced. Every department from the restaurant, pool area, fitness center, housekeeping and front desk staff demonstrated great training they received and above-average efforts each of the 4 days we stayed there!

Room Tip: The water front views are great, the higher floors let you see all the way across the harbor for mil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    795
    288
    102
    69
See reviews for
412
488
87
1,282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
576 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I just wrapped up a week long conference at this hotel. We had numerous receptions and hospitality events on site. Without fail the staff were very professional and courteous. Nice job Marriott! I would recommend this hotel in a second for your next event.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jski529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I rarely write a poor review and am so critical of others that do. This will appear to be too detailed and is written primarily for other platinum elite members who will understand. There is a service level you learn to expect and when it fails to deliver it is definitely noteworthy. The GOOD: location, location, location. Walking distance to beautiful riverfront area. Live music within earshot of your balcony nightly. The POOL with self service ice by the bar and plentiful pool towels and chairs. Conscientious and pleasant staff who follow up on requests even when not fulfilled. Their heart is in the place so an A for effort. The BAD: one bath towel per person in room even when asking for extra towels. NO weekend coffee options other than make it your own in the room. When we called for coffee through room service they simply brought us more packets and empty plastic cups so we could make it ourselves. No concierge club on weekends. Thunderous Loud noise of cigarette boats in harbor. When our wine and cheese-crackers welcome amenity was brought up they brought just ONE wine glass for the two of us. Turn down was an abrupt knock at the door and a hand extended with a greasy cookie in a paper wrapper. (Hence the lack of towels issue). Valet service is Painfully slow and inefficient. Call with plenty of notice to retrieve your car. Again. The location makes this a great place to stay. Just understand what to expect and you will be fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubySlippers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback and for your kind words regarding certain aspects of your stay. I would like to apologize for what you experienced and reassure you that I have shared this feedback with the appropriate individuals so these service failures can be addressed. Should your travels bring you to Tampa in the future, please contact me directly so I can ensure your stay is flawless. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and for the opportunity to improve on our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Looked like it was primarily a conference hotel. Room was a bit pricey - basic but adequate . Breakfast was good. Staff very friendly. Just across the street from Tampa Times Forum and Convention Center. Trolley in front of hotel will get you to Aquarium and some shopping nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Great location next to Tampa Times Forum and across the street from the convention center.

Great Sports bar and restaurants onsite and the staff was very friendly.

Valet parking is quick and allows unlimited in and out service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipesofstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Came here this past July to take my Bar exam (very important test for my career). But here is why my I rate themn as horrible:
1. I was lied to about valet parking prices. I was told a cheaper price via phone and paid double when I showed up.
2. I had spiders in my room and on my bed. I also incurred a spider bite. I was told that there was only 1 house keeping staff person working that night so I went a long time before my sheets were changed.
3. Breakfast Room service order came in late on the day of my test, even with my order put in the night before
4. Ate lunch at the hotel and was not warned via sign or message that there were nuts in the dishes. I am highly allergic to pine nuts and inurred a severe allergic reaction to the dishes I ate
5. The staff was a bit unproffessional especially when it came to my issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StephanieJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor and for taking the time to speak with me on the telephone. I would like to apologize for what you experienced, and reassure you that the issues have been addressed. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve on our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for a conference. Paid 800 after taxes.(used some marriott points too) What did I get? Very clean, comfortable small room next to ice machine. What didn't I get? Sleep! I could not hear the ice machine but the doors slammed every time someone went to get ice all night long....put some soft stops on these doors please! They charge 14 for Internet and when I asked they agreed to 7.... Ridiculous when you are already paying so much for room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback and for your kind words regarding our cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. I would like to apologize for what you experienced with the ice machine room and would like to assure you that we have corrected the problem. Should your travels bring you to Tampa in the future, please know that we offer complimentary Internet in the lobby. We appreciate your business and the opportunity to improve on our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing