We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice waterside location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice waterside location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Ended up spending two nights at this property because of a bad experience at Marriott Clearwater Sand Key property. We tried three rooms at Marriott Sand Key and they all had very bad odor issues. My husband is a Marriott Elite Rewards member and was upset over the experience. We called Marriott Customer Service and filed a complaint. They then helped us find Marriott Waterside in Tampa. We we're trying to find a property with a nice pool. The customer service agent told us ths property had a nice pool, so we headed to Tampa.

When we arrived my husband checked in with Stacie at the front desk. He told her about the bad experience we had just experienced in Clearwater. She happily upgraded us to a great corner suite with adjoining room. She also gave him extra rewards points for our trouble and went out of her way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. That is how an Elite Rewards member should be treated. She knows the value of keeping those that spend lots of nights per year at Marriott properties happy. Why didn't the manager at Marriott Sand Key get that?

There was one glitch with our stay. The pool that we based the whole reservation on in the first place had been drained due to some issue. We were told we could walk across the street to use the pool at the Embassy Suites. Very inconvenient! It was also a teeny tiny pool that was not exciting at all for our kids. I know the hotel can't help emergency issues, but it apparently happened several days prior to our arrival. The reservations person should have been aware of this and not sold us this property because of its wonderful pool. When emergencies arrive and pools are drained, the website and database should be flagged immediately.

The front desk associates, bell men and valets were all very pleasant.

They were undergoing a lobby renovations, so there was a little mess due to that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent posting and for your kind words about our property and Stacie. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone at the hotel for our inability to inform you about the pool closure. Thank you for your feedback and for your continued loyalty to Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    738
    256
    90
    60
See reviews for
367
443
84
1,191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is located right on the water (hence the name). You could boat right up to its docks.
Conveniently located next to the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Harbour Island, Channelside and the Tampa Aquarium.
The biggest drawback to the hotel, which might not matter to some, is the lack of self-parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bonthra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize on behalf of the Valet Team for not informing you about self-parking options. For future reference please note that there our 2 self-parking locations across the street from the hotel. We appreciate your business and the opportunity to improve on the overall experience we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

terrible -no food after 11 pm available and they only direct you to pizza joints. drive here from north FL and get lost in the ghetto- yuk Dirty smelling rooms and you Should check for bedbugs- YUK- loud outside- room promised seaside was a roof outside our door. YUK don't be fooled-

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qtmissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback. I would like to apologize for what you experienced during your recent visit and assure you that I have shared this feedback with the appropriate individuals. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve on the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here last month for one night while on a business trip and the hotel is a great location for a conference or access to downtown/surrounding areas. However, it is a valet only hotel and your only other option is a block away. I would also opt for breakfast at a nearby Einstein Bagels, as a plain bagel/cream cheese and milk cost approximately $10. The rooms are very spacious but the air conditioning system did not impress me, at all. As a matter of fact, I called maintenance because I didn't think it was working. According to the tech, the room's a/c was down into the 60's but because the companion fresh air system, which draws from the outside - thanks to Florida's high humidity - is damp air... yada, yada, yada (it wouldn't feel like it was in the 60's and all of the rooms were the same) and I tipped him too. Despite the great service you expect from a Marriott property, the beautiful hotel itself, it's convenience to my local office, etc, I like my rooms to have the capability to be ice cold and this one just wasn't; so I don't expect to return. I don't think I've ever said that about a Marriott property but I was absolutely frustrated with the a/c system; however, in all fairness to Marriott, I did not complain to management even after the tech's visit (and I had already packed up the room as I wanted to change it and I would only do that in a desperate measure) and don't know if it would've made a difference.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank munchkin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize on behalf of the entire hotel for the air condition malfunction you experienced. Additionally, I want to assure you that I have shared this feedback with our Engineering Leadership Team. Please note that we appreciate your feedback as it enables us to improve on future guest stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a Living Social deal for a Storm game and decided to stay one night here last min. Got there - had to pay for valet (which I knew TY Trip Adv!) but made check in a breeze and downtown parking would have otherwise been difficult. We were in the room within 4 min- despite the fact that I made the res for the wrong day. We did therefore have to settle for 2 full beds rather than a queen it was worth it for the amazing intercostal view from the balcony. We enjoyed the sports bar and didn't go to the pool although it looked fun- they were growing lettuce tomatoes and herb Ina grow house by the pool which was fascinating to check out at night. Nice having Starbucks in the lobby in the am and check out/ getting the car was a cinch. Looking forward to staying again- especially if we get the same rate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin0640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Check-in is fine and the public areas are quite nice, but the first room we were given had blood on the bathroom door and we thought maybe there would be some other surprises so we called for a new room, and after the fourth attempt, they sent housekeeping to verify said blood on wall and, within an uncomfortable hour were curtly given keys to another room. The room is fine, but nothing more special than you could find at a much less expensive option--there is an Embassy Suites in front of this property and has much lower rack rates. We were also told they only had valet parking (despite what the website says about off-site parking--never did find which story was true) for $20 a day, but expect (during peak hours) to wait at least an hour for your car, four or five calls before someone answers, and valets who cannot understand the basic three digit tag number (they actually brought two wrong cars before we got ours!). The attitude here is really one of indifference--the service lousy, and as one continues to learn, internet and other amenities cost money. We were so annoyed we never bothered to get the bill knocked down or the valet taken off our bill--we just wanted to leave.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a balcony unless it is a river view--otherwise you will enjoy your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolaGatitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent posting. I would like to apologize for what you experienced during your stay and reassure you that I have shared this feedback with our Housekeeping Team. Additionally, I want to assure you that moving forward our Valet Team will focus on being more consistent with staffing levels and more attentive with their key handling procedures. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to improve on the overall experience we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with family before moving to a beach hotel. This hotel has a great location with many things to do. The hotel is impressive with its big tower and large lobby. The staff was very nice and my room was very clean.

We had the same housekeeper everyday and she was so friendly and asked us everyday what we needed,she was great. Room service was also very good.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#14 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing