We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront elelgance in Tampa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Attended a convention it Tampa for 3 days and the Marriott Waterside was very nice. Tampa has been hit by the economic downturn, but not at this beautiful hotel. Good jogging and public transportation, a great, very large, rooftop pool and sauna and a good sports bar/restaurant on the first floor made it a good trip. Also traveled over to St Petersburg for a day at the beach and a visit to the wonderful Dali museum - worth the drive!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank attony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,500 - 2,506 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights for a business conference. Located steps from the Tampa convention center and a pretty view of the river. Consistently friendly service from the entire staff. The room was good, well-lit for reading anywhere, big bathroom counter for laying out all my stuff, very comfortable king bed and comforter, easily adjusted temp control. The pool deck was quite nice with an adjacent work-out room that was well stocked with equipment and TVs to distract. All in all, a typical predictably good and large Marriott.
Downsides: Quality of the coffee maker in the room was poor, but there's a Starbucks in the lobby that opens at 6 (but also closes in the early afternoon). Shower water pressure mediocre. $15/day for internet usage, which includes unlimited phone use, but who uses a hotel phone any more? No tennis on location: to play tennis, one has to walk about 10 min to the beautiful green clay (seemed like Har-tru) courts at the Harborview Athletic club where they charge you to walk into the place and then to rent a court. Go to their web site for a free 3-day pass (not for the court rental). Also, not many decent restaurants to walk to, so need to take a cab everywhere for dinners out. All my meals were furnished by the conference, and the food wasn'd bad for a hotel, but I never ate in one of the restaurants.
Summary - I would stay here again for another conference, but also consider the Westin which is a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajlcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Great waterfront room on 26th floor. Problem was the LOUD MUSIC from the club across the canal on Friday and Saturday nights. The music played until 2:30 a.m. It was loud enough to keep me awake both nights! Staff very nice but nothing they can do about the music.

Room Tip: Try city view if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RC1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I went to a Tampa Bay Lightning game at the TB Times Forum, so we decided to make it a mini vacation and stay overnight at the Marriott Waterside. It was a great decision! The hotel is located one block from the Forum. You couldn't be closer if you parked in the Forum parking lot. It is also a short walk to the shops and restaurants at Channelside. The view from our room was beautiful. We were able to watch cruise ships pulling in, boats docking, kayaks paddling and had a nice view of Tampa Bay. The heated pool and jacuzzi were very nice.

Room Tip: A high room provides nice views. Try not to be next to the elevators, althought they are very speed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaSunnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was here for 3nights and 4days for work and all of our conference meetings, lunches, receptions, etc. The rooms and area where all these were held was wonderful! There was plenty of room and the best part is that from your room to the conference area is less than 5minutes. I really like that it was all close, I've stayed in hotels where things are SO spread out and it takes too much time to get between the two.

The staff here was awesome and it was the quickest check in I've ever experienced!

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor and was facing the street (not the marina) and it was just fine, not no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed while attending a trade show at the convention center across the street. It was a great experience. The concierge lounge was well stocked and hot hors doerves were present each evening for the four nights that I was there. My room with a view and balcony was great and the service was second to none. The food in the restaurants was wonderful and being able to eat outside at the marina was a wonderful treat. This is a must visit hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCRDSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed there 2-13 to 2-15 for a trade show at the convention center. The hotel is right across the street from the convention center and is close to the trolley stop to go to Channelside or Ybor city. The rooms were clean and the sports bar/grill downstairs had good food and drinks. The breakfast restaurant was good, although a bit pricey. Overall, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $177 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing